We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy Indian”
Review of Palace at the Ben - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Palace at the Ben
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: 9th & Chestnut St.
Transit: Regional trains (R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, R8) stop two blocks away at the Market East Station located at 11th & Market Street. All below listed buses stop in front of the restaurant: 9, 17, 21, 33, 38, 42, 44, 47, and 61. The New Jersey High Speed PATCO Line station is located in less than a block away at 9th & Locust Streets.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fancy Indian”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Gorgeous surroundings, but I didn't think the food livedup to it. Too expensive for the quantity --barely adequate for a normal eater.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraAnnWordmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food - huge lunch buffet!”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We went on a Sunday for the lunch buffet. It's $12 a person and there are a TON of food options. We went around noon and there was practically no one else in the restaurant so we had really fast service. Very good food and I'd say that the buffet was worth the money. Try the mango chicken!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kawaiifvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Extensive and delicious menu! A wonderful place to go with a group and share your food. Surprisingly affordable. Loved it!

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank srock11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I have had in Philadelphia”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I took several of my colleagues to Palace at the Ben. Some of them had never tried Indian food, others were well versed in Indian food. The waiter was very good at explaining the various items to those with questions and everyone raved about the meal. Thanks to the Ritz consierge for the recommendation.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wandere1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My partner and I decided on a whim to come down to Philadelphia from New York City. After enduring a 2 hour Bolt bus ride, we were starving and looked for a nice place to eat. We came across this Indian restaurant and because of its high reviews we decided to check it out. When we got there it was completely empty and nobody was at the front. Eventually a host came around and I asked if they were open or preparing for dinner. They were open and the host walked us to our table. I immediately was trepidatious about eating in a restaurant where we were the only customers. However once the food and friendly waiter came around, all my fears were put to rest. The Naan was so savory and doughy at the base, probably the best I've ever had. It was well worth the trip to Philly and a great way to start our weekend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norig78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace at the Ben also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing