We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, in prime location for visiting the historic area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2011

The hotel has the Best Western standards for cleanliness and comfort, but also Victorian decor with the atmosphere of a small European hotel. Although the rooms are somewhat small, the price is reasonable considering the location, which is within very convenient walking distance to the historic area, shopping mall, Reading Terminal market, and to many restaurants in all price ranges.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkVisitor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

After a disappointing beginning at another hotel that doesn't deserve to be mentioned, we happily found ourselves at the Independence Park Hotel, greeted by name at the front desk, and handed a glass of wine by the manager on staff. Really, what more could one ask for? Amazing location, terrific restaurants nearby, good breakfast at the hotel (love the liberty bell waffles) and generous late check-out. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etonrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We arrived after booking through travelocity which was a disaster. They managed to book, confirm then canel with no reason and couldnt seem to sort out. Anyway, we arrived and the front desk lady, i think her name was Michelle, was absolutely fantastic. She booked us in with no hassles and for a very good price. She also gave some excellent recommendations on places to eat. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom. I would recommend this hotel especially if you get Michelle checking you in.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Joncole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

My stay was right before Christmas. The lobby had a table full of gingerbread house that the staff had made along with a beautiful Christmas tree. There were cookies and hot tea out in the afternoon. The room was nice and very clean and comfortable.The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Location great, close to many points of interest. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cozy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

The Best Western Independence Park Hotel has it all. It’s a boutique hotel – big enough to have all the amenities we want and small enough to provide personal service.

Its location can’t be beat; it’s walking distance to the historic sites, world-class restaurants, clubs and shops.

When my parents come back to Philly to visit, this is their “home away from home”. Over the past two years they have spent approximately 30 nights here. Their most recent visit ( Nov 2010 ) came about because of a serious medical issue that brought them from Tulsa, OK to Wills Eye Hospital. The staff was so welcoming and helpful – it made a very difficult time much easier.

On behalf of my parents Jan and Jerry, I’d like to personally thank Gina, Stacey, Michelle, Craig, Jessica, Donna, Loretta, Adam, the really nice Maintenance man whose name escapes me and everyone else at this wonderful and charming hotel!

We can heartily recommend this hotel for everything from a get away weekend to a business trip and everything in between.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Great location, friendly staff, clean room, good breakfast... unfortunately rooms at front are noisy on weekends at around 2AM due to local nightlife. Also, WiFi does not extend to upper rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Stayed in the Best Western recently for 7 nights & the main reasons for choosing this hotel was its location and even though the rate was similar to some 4* hotels close by this hotel supplied breakfast.It always seems much more convenient to have breakfast included when staying more than a couple of days.
The self serve breakfast was well stocked with choice of cereals ,breads,fruit ,juices,scrambled egg ,sausage, tea/coffee & waffle makers.Just to be fussy I would have loved some bagels & cheese.
Location is bang in the centre of the historical district ,only 5 minutes from the visitors centre and No1 stop for hop on hop off tour buses.
There is an huge number of restaurants & bars within walking distance & even though it is not the classiest area of the city many of the top expensive restaurants are situated close to the hotel.
We booked a King room room and was glad I did because the Queen rooms are quite compact. The decor in the room was fine but nothing special ,slightly dated but the hotel is obviously trying to match its historic status.Our room was on the second floor and you could definetly hear all movement in the room above which may annoy some guests.Also my biggest gripe was the inefficent heating in our room ,it is an in wall blow heater with a loud fan which we needed to keep on through the night as it was quite cold for December and it was difficult to achieve comfortable temperatures.
The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre stores such as Maceys but there is an excellent bus system with a drop off point just beside the hotel ,single journey each way is just $2.00.
All in all this is a quite good 3 star hotel but dont expect any luxuries.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,279 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 87 in Philadelphia
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 87 in Philadelphia
3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $147 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing