We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Philadelphia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Philadelphia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel because it was convenient to all of the 4th of July celebrations. The staff was very friendly ad the included breakfast was excellent. There were good restaurants nearby and it was an easy walk to Penn's Landing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank margietex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    418
    78
    15
    14
See reviews for
408
514
65
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for two nights in July and had a wonderful experience! This property is just a 5 minute walk to all the attractions and parking is so easy. The staff is great and made us feel welcome! I would highly recommended this historical hotel it's great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly19842014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Kimberly19842014,

Thanks for staying with us at the Best Western Independence Park Hotel. And thanks for posting your gracious reviews and saying that your stay had an "Outstanding Stay". This is great news.

We love when our guest write such stunning reviews, especially when they include phrases like..."a wonderful experience....parking is so easy....The staff is great" and my favorite...I would highly recommended this historical hotel it's great!"

So, thanks again for staying with us and telling the world about your experience at the Best Western

Come back soon!

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Beautiful room, but small for $200+. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in a great area, many bars and restaurants on the same block, and the Liberty bell is 2 blocks away. There is no parking lot, there is a parking garage located around the corner and its an additional $16 charge to park there, I didn't mind the walk to go there, but if it were raining or snowing I would of been dissatisfied with the parking situation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We were a family of five; we requested two rooms, which they managed to arrange to be together, even on a busy 4th of July week. As others have mentioned, (a) the location is great for walking to attractions, a variety of dinner options, and mass transit (to reach the rest of the city), and (b) the staff was especially attentive. Two things stood out for us. First, we had a card reader that for some reason was stuck; the manager was on that like a pit bull and I believe she would've invoked the ghost of Benjamin Franklin to resolve the issue had it been necessary. Second, they made very practical recommendations for how to beat the lines to see the Liberty Bell, and how to combine dinner with a free concert at Penn's Landing. We had a great time exploring Philadelphia, and the location and service from this hotel was a big part of it. I'd strongly recommend that family travelers to historical Philadelphia consider this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street (at present, summer 2014) face construction of a new museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mister_stinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear mister_stinky

(Well, I would have preferred to call you "friend" or "guest", but your post says "mister_stinky"; so I guess that works for you...)

Anyway, we loved your review of the Best Western Independence Park Hotel and glad your family of 5 had a great stay with us. Thanks.

And while your review offered many gracious comments, I enjoyed this one the best...." I'd strongly recommend that family travelers to historical Philadelphia consider this hotel". Thanks.

Please come visit us again soon...and bring the full family!

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Best Western and if I could return tomorrow it would be to this hotel. Besides the outstanding, walk to everything location, the staff that run this hotel treats every guest like family from the moment they walk through the door. Everyone, including the front desk staff, manager, maintenence, breakfast servers, housekeeping wants you to have the most enjoyable time at their hotel and their city, and are willing to help in any capacity. We enjoyed the breakfasts, wine reception, afternoon tea and cookies, comfortable beds, quiet rooms and outstanding service. Although the rooms are on the small side, the bathrooms are very large. It is a beautiful older building and I would recommend it highly for anyone who wants to be in a great location to walk to all the historical sights that Philadelphia has to offer.

Room Tip: Top floor (5th floor) was very quiet although we lacked a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCot130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small but I like that. Nice and clean.The staff is extremely helpful.
This hotel is a perfect location for a tourist! Everything historical is within walking distance.
I would suggest it to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a lovely hotel in the middle of the old city center. You are walking distance to all of the main attractions. But the real "five stars" in this hotel are its people: Julian (Manager at the front desk) and Suzanne (Manager) went above and beyond to satisfy all of our needs and answer all of our questions. I even asked them to split our final bill (I was traveling with my sister and my niece who had just returned from Spain) so that I could pay for one night and Julian made this absolutely no problem. Suzanne's recommendations for restaurants were exactly what we were looking for in both a lunch place and casual dinner place. The breakfast room is delightful and all of the staff were extra-friendly. This is one of those reviews that you kind of hate to write because this place is so special, you only want special people to know about it! If you're looking for a new, modern hotel with huge spacious rooms, this is not it. But if you want to stay in an historic building, in the center of all of the other historic treasures of Philadelphia, this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mary M,

I am so glad to read that you and your sister had a great time staying at the Best Western Independence Park Hotel. Thanks for posting your review and telling the world about our historic Inn.

You titled your review, Above and Beyond, which is such a wonderful thing to write about our staff and your stay. I will certainly share your comments with our hospitality team.

And while there are bigger, more modern hotels in Philadelphia, your comment here says it all..".if you want to stay in an historic building, in the center of all of the other historic treasures of Philadelphia, this is the place!

Wow, we appreciate your business and gracious words...and for using TripAdvisor as well.

THANKS

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,703 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing