We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location- highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had a very nice stay here while sightseeing in Philadelphia and found it to be a great location within easy walking distance to the entire historic park. As we approached the exterior of the building, we were a bit unsure, but once inside, everything was great. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Room was smallish- with very high ceilings - true to its history. Mattresses were super-comfy. Substantial breakfast included eggs, sausage, make-your-own waffles, fruit, cereal, bagels, yogurt, juice--- anything you could want to fortify yourself for a day out. We needed a taxi for early morning to get to the airport, so called the desk the night before. It was all arranged and the taxi was ready and waiting as we checked out. (Cost $30 plus tip.) Could not have been smoother.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuefromSauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear SuefromSauk,

Thanks for staying with us and for posting your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate both!

I am pleased that you found that "everything was great" that our "staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful" and that our complimentary breakfast offered "anything you could want"! This is all great to hear.

We love taking care of our guests and we were happy to read that we did so when you stayed at the Independence Park Hotel.

THANKS

JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

Very nice hotel. Good location that's close to Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, Betsy Ross House and other places of historic interest. They have a nice complimentary breakfast and the lobby has fresh fruit all the time and they serve cookies and tea everyday in the afternoon, as well as free newspapers. The front desk people were very nice and extremely helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Elaine611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were traveling to Pennsylvania for family and decided to tour Philly. Our flight was delayed and they sold our room and didn't charge us for the extra night . They gave us excellent information for parking, touring and dining out. BUT I LOVED the historic feel and ambiance of the old building while it provided modern comfort and convenience. Would go there again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Eric J,

Thanks for staying with us at the Independence Park Hotel. And thanks for the kind words on TripAdvisor.

I'm glad your travel plans ended up working out and that our team was able to help your family. It's never fun when a flight cancels, so I am happy that we could make your visit to Philadelphia as pleasant as possible.

I also please you "LOVED" the historic feel and ambiance of our hotel and that you would stay here "again and recommend" us "highly".

Come back soon.

JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We enjoyed two days in at the Best Western Independence Plus Park Hotel.

Terrific location for site-seeing in the historical areas of Philadelphia.

The hotel staff deserve an A for their friendliness and attention to making our stay a good one.

BW serves a delicious breakfast each morning.

If you're planning a vacation to Philadelphia, we highly recommend staying at the Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Staff excellent, rooms tend to be small, beds are the most comfortable ever. Within walking distance of many historical sites. Lots of bars and eateries nearby. Great Value for cost. Free coffee and tea and snacks daily. Plus free wine and cheese on Tuesdays. Would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank critic99992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Good day Critic99992014

What an excellent review you posted on TripAdvisor, Thanks. And thanks for selecting the Independence Park Hotel, too.

Yes, some of our rooms are "quaint", but they are filled with charm, great beds and plenty of modern comforts. We do have larger rooms, rooms with sitting areas and even a room with a Jacuzzi bath! So on your next visit, maybe you would like another selection?

I loved your comment about our "great value" and also how we are easy walking distance to many restaurants, bars, and attractions...thanks.

I do wish to mention one thing...our free wine and cheese reception is on Wednesday's, not Tuesdays.

Anyway, thanks for staying with us. Come back soon!

JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

A friend recommended this hotel for our stay in Philadelphia, excellent advice! The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, from my first phone call until the time that we left. It's a great location for visiting the main historic sites, most are within a few blocks - a very easy walk. We had a comfortable queen size bed in a moderately sized room, but it's what should be expected from these lovely old buildings. The walls are a bit thin, but that also is to be expected. We barely heard our neighbors and slept quite well. Breakfast buffet was good, and generous. There are probably dozens (I didn't actually count) of restaurants, pubs and bars within 2 or 3 blocks, we ate at a different location for every meal. JJ Bootleggers, The Plough were our favorites. Live music in the evenings at several places, don't miss Ray Coleman on Saturday evenings at the Plough.

We came by shuttle from the airport, and returned via subway and train - a very easy trip. We had no need for a car, and didn't have to worry about the expensive parking rates in Old City Philadelphia. If we come to Philly again, we will definitely stay here again. There isn't an exercise room, or a pool, but with all the walking we did those amenities were not missed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dstravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was a very clean, nice hotel. The room was great, bathroom was a decent size and very clean. They did charge $6 for the bottled water, and only provided one bottle, which was a surprise from a Best Western. It was much more upscale than I anticipated. It had nice elegant stairway, great lobby and great location (heart of historic Philly). The parking was a bit expensive ($16/day) but given the parking garage prices, it was a steal ($16 only buys you 2 hours if paying the parking garage rather than going through the hotel). The walls were intensely thin though. At 2 am we heard our neighbors TV on so we called the front desk as it just seemed like it was unreasonably loud for that hour. The front desk said they would call the guest and go up there if necessary. Before they even called (you could hear the phone ring), he had already turned the TV off, and I imagine he did so because he heard us call the front desk about it. Thats how thin the walls are! But, everything was handled well and had no real issues. I would go back there if we were looking to stay in Philly again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mead310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,626 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,401 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $154 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing