We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Helpful staff, clean and inviting rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Helpful staff, clean and inviting rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The staff was very helpful, we were there for passport issue resolution-US Cutoms house is across the street. Breakfasts very nice My daughter loved the Libery Bell Waffle Iron! Craig from the front desk was AWESOME! Traveled to a different "country" each evening- Irish Pub one night and German fare the next! GREAT LOCATION!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Andy

Thanks for staying at the Independence Park Hotel, the vote of confidence and your 5 Star review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the gracious comments, especially "helpful", "clean" and "inviting!"

You know that Allentown is only an hour or so away, so please be sure to come back and visit us again soon. There's plenty of fun things to do here in Old City, plenty of great shows, restaurants and historic sites; all footsteps from the Independence Park Hotel.

And thanks for telling the world about your fantastic stay at our historic hotel.

Be well. We look forward to your return.

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    410
    74
    15
    14
See reviews for
395
502
65
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had a wedding to attend in the City. Booked this hotel based upon reviews. Hotel staff very pleasant from the Hotel Clerk to the other members of the staff. The wedding Ceremony was at Christ Church, right around the corner from the church. After the ceremony we were able to enjoy the cookies/tea and coffee served in the comfortable lobby with the fireplace from 4 to 6. The reception was held at the Downtown Club which was only a 2 block walk away from the hotel. This hotel is in a wonderful location, walkable to all historic points and Penns Landing. We spent a very comfortable night in a very clean room and woke up to enjoy a great breakfast which was available between 7 and 10 a.m., breakfast is included and consisted of Belgium waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, cereal muffins juice, coffee and tea. Hotel has free WIFI and off site parking available for a fee.
We enjoyed our stay and will go back for a weekend getaway. Great Value for the area.

Room Tip: Request a high floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nangefv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspers, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We checked in to the Best Western for a weekend in Philly. The building is lovely- and in an excellent location to see all the historical sites. We also walked to the flower show, and it wasn't too bad. We were warmly welcomed upon arrival, and it was tea and cookie time, so we took advantage of that! The room was very clean, and, even though it was smallish, we found it to be just right. We were on the 5th floor- and the room was decorated in a warm, comfortable style. The bathroom, also very clean, was spacious. Breakfast was nice, a little better than the normal.
There are many great restaurants right around the corner. We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kt-pintail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear waxwing80

Thanks for staying with us while you were in Philadelphia recently attending the Philadelphia Flower Show. We're a great location for the historic sites, and I agree with you; it's an easy walk to the convention center as well. Thanks for pointing this out, since many people stay close to the convention center and miss out on the really fun things here in Philadelphia!

I am also glad you enjoyed our free hot breakfast buffet, complimentary afternoon tea, cookies and snacks and of course your clean and warm room. This is great to read, thanks.

Please come back again soon, there's great restaurants, museums, shows and art galleries all located footsteps from the Independence Park Hotel; so don't be a stranger...OK?

Thanks again.

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The only negative feedback I have about this hotel was the greeting by the man at the front desk. We arrived earlier than 3 pm, obviously fully aware that a room may not be ready. The man was adamant about that, which we accepted (had a wedding to get ready for and get to by 4:15). I requested that he call my cell phone when a room was ready (this wasn't offered by him - he didn't even ask my name). We checked our luggage, went out for lunch and came back around 2:30. I figured he would see us coming in and voluntarily let us know whether or not a room was ready. Nothing. We sat down (about 10 feet from him) and he never acknowledged us. About 5 minutes later, we asked if a room was ready, he immediately said "no" but then looked it up in the computer and there was one ready. After checking in and getting our room keys, he didn't even remember that we checked luggage (not even 2 hours previous). He also didn't even check that we were marked as part of a wedding so I had to ask to receive a bag AND our luggage. This was easily the worst greeting experience I've had at a hotel; I've had better experiences in European hostels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The room was clean, very comfy queen sized bed, great locatin in center Philly, parking was an additional $19 a day in the parking garage around the corner. Check-in and out was quick and easy. I love that check-out was at noon and not 11am. I would def. stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansdale, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great people and great hotel. Would stay here again. A++ Give this little Best Western a try. You'll be happy you did. Close to all that Philadelphia has to offer. ( History, Food, Nightlife and Shopping)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia pa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

A pleasant stay ,quiet ,just enough for beakfast,comfortable beds ,Our daughter lives very close. Some type of parking pass or discounted rate would go a long way to making this Hotel a extremely popular and a wonderful visit for parents and couples,not so much for families with small or young children.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Santino/michele E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing