We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value right in the heart of the historic district” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value right in the heart of the historic district”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

After a lengthy internet search for a solid value I settled on this hotel and after staying I believe I made the right choice. The lobby is nicely decorated, staff is pleasant and rooms are on the small side but quiet and comfortable. The bed is very comfortable. The included breakfast offers eggs, sausage, waffles, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, assorted breads and muffins...very nice. One block from Independence Hall and the historic district. 3 blocks from Penn's Landing and a short walk to South Street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank johare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    410
    74
    15
    14
See reviews for
395
502
65
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed here based on other reviews and was suitably impressed. Great location, service and facilities.
The hotel is perfectly located for walking to the historical sites of Philadelphia, (2-3 blocks to Independence Mall) and close to a SEPTA station for trips further afield: 2nd street station is a one block walk away.
The hotel itself is historic and so has a nice charming feel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included, with make-your-own-waffles as well as a selection of hot food (e.g. eggs and sausage), range of breads, muffins and danishes and coffees and juices. There is also afternoon tea in the lobby from 4-6pm with freshly baked cookies and hot drinks available.For other meals there are plenty of great options in the surrounding streets to suit a range of budgets.
The room is relatively small, but the bed was extremely comfortable, wifi access reliable and flat screen TV with plenty of channels if staying in one night. The bathroom was also small but usable. The place is kept very clean and there was very little street noise to disrupt sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Mel904,

I am please that your stay with us was up to the high expectations and reviews you read on TripAdvisor. Plus, I am pleased that you found the reviews accurate and our staff pleasant.

We agree, the Independence Park Hotel is well located, boasts historic charm and a great free breakfast.

So, thanks again for the kind words and your staying with us...we appreciate both!

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I decided to stay there after great recommendations from fellow reviewers. What a treat! A total gem in the historical part of Philadelphia. For my 1st visit of the city, this location was absolutely perfect! The room was small (Queen room), but it was sufficient for me, who was traveling solo for the Philadelphia marathon. Wifi was free and signal was more than acceptable. Bed was extremely comfortable as well.
Location was within walking distance (5-7 minutes) to the Independence Hall, Liberty Bell and the City Tavern. It was also close to the subway line on Market Street. Cabs are easy to grab as well.
There were tons of restaurants nearby. I went to Barra right next door (Italian), Zento (Japanese) and City Tavern (historical). But there were lots of sandwich places as well as Asian fusion places. Too bad I didn't have time to try them all!
Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RunningMomMayL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a neat hotel in the historic district of Philly. The staff is great, and the hotel is very attractive. I have stayed here many times, and have never had a bad experience. I will be back again!

Room Tip: Wednesdays are wine and cheese night, and every night they have free cookies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Roger C,

Thanks for staying with us again at the Independence Park Hotel. We appreciate your return visits, the kind words and excellent review you posted on TripAdvisor. Thanks.

It's wonderful to read your comments and see that our staff has taken great care of you every time you stay with us.

Come back soon.

HAPPY NEW YEAR

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Yes,the location is nice, but the helpfulness of the staff, good service, cleanliness, and breakfast are the best reasons to recommend this hotel. I have found fewer places which meet all these criteria in the center of the city.Thanks, Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel for adding your hospitality to our son's wedding experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay if you are site seeing at all of the local historical sites in the area. You are able to walk every where without any difficulties. Short taxi rides to other places, even the casino!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Debmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western PLUS Independence Park Hotel this past weekend. We had a great time seeing the sights and being tourists in Philadelphia. The hotel was clean and very convenient location. The staff we encountered were friendly and the breakfast was a nice part of the stay.

I would have given this hotel an excellent rating, except towards the end of our stay, two issues arose. The night before we left it was so noisy inside the hotel with yelling people and doors slamming it was hard to sleep. Also after no more than an hour after we checked out, we realized we left a bathroom appliance behind in our room and called to notify them. The staff member we spoke to wasn't the friendliest and told us they would try to locate it and mail it back to the address on the reservation as well as bill us for shipping, which was fine. We called the hotel today and they had no record of us calling and alerting them of what we left behind and that there was nothing they could do. I do not understand how one minute they can assure us they will do whatever they can and let us know and the next minute they could care less. We are so disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,514 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing