We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice! Both times give us nothing but to rave about it. The location is great for historical sight seeing and there are plenty of bars, restaurants and coffee in any direction that you walk.

The hotel itself is really beautiful inside and has a warm inviting comfy feel when you walk in. The room we stayed in was very clean and set up very cozy. I really enjoyed the jacuzzi bathtub that's huge! The complimentary breakfast is perfect for early morning so you don't have to rush and find a breakfast spot or coffee shop. Lots of selections to choose from including a waffle iron that has the liberty bell stamped into the waffle!

The staff was always very accommodating and and very friendly. We will definitely make sure to tell our friends and family to stay here while visiting us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    417
    78
    15
    14
See reviews for
407
512
65
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Walk to everything we wanted to see, with a few exceptions! But moving around Philly is really easy by bus or subway. We wll be back tto see more and stay at this hotel. Breakfast is include and that is worth it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank fredsO2156TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a terrific couple of days and nights in Philly. The location, hotel and staff were all wonderful. We plan on returning and look forward to staying at the Independence Park Hotel. The staff, especially, made the experience remarkable. Everyone was eager to help, friendly and knowledgeable. We were very impressed!

Room Tip: Talk to the staff! They were helpful, knowledgeable and extremely friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Amy H ,

Thanks for your gracious comments and the wonderful review you posted on TripAdvisor. we certainly appreciate your staying with us and telling the world what a "Great Family Hotel" the Independence Park Hotel is! Thanks.

We also were glad that you found "The location, hotel and staff were all wonderful" and that you plan on returning soon. This is great news!

So, thanks again for your selecting the Best Western Independence Park Hotel.

Happy Thanksgiving

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. We spent a night in November, and were extremely pleased. The hotel is immaculate, and the bed was the most comfortable bed in any hotel I've ever stayed at. The staff was friendly and very courteous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in the older part of the city. Rooms are not huge but ample in size. Staff is caring and available but not intrusive, . Nice breakfast. The entry area depicts old world with a grand straircase and fireplace. In keeping with the hotel environment, classical music is quietly placed through out the building. On Weds. the management provides a lovely wine and cheese get-together and coffee and cookies are available each evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Independence Park on 10/23 and it was a perfect stay and perfect location to see all of the historic spots in Philadelphia and a block away was the subway station to get uptown to Center City. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and the night manager even hailed a cab for me on my arrival, I would recommend this to everyone that wants to see historic Philadelphia

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlville, New York, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great location, staff, and accommodations in this "Authentic" hotel. Besides being so centrally located to all the attractions in OLD PHILLY...it was great to step in between tours and warm up with coffee and in a beautiful charming reception area.... one of two rooms was ready before 3 pm check-in and this was a great help to be able to check in early and leave our bags in a secure area as we were meeting family for a tour at 1pm. Thanks so much! We also were able to come in and out conveniently to warm up between tours as we had several scheduled. The parking garage "The Ritz" was conveniently close and reasonably priced as well. The free breakfast was so good and we loved making our waffles with the liberty bell on them. Just a lovely experience. There are added taxes but that is applied to any hotel in the area..I would give them a five star rating because everything I needed was there in the room. I did not mind the parking a block and a half away, it was a secured location...and a small fee compared to what others were charging. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARLENE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear ARLENE S

" I will definitely stay here again." is exactly what we work for and love to read in our guest reviews...so THANK YOU!

We appreciated your staying at The Best Western Independence Park Hotel,

And we were glad you found that our parking garage was "conveniently close and reasonably priced". This is also great to hear, plus we agree.

So, thanks for staying with us and for telling the world that everything was "Just a lovely experience."

We look forward to seeing you again!

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing