We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feeling of old Philadelphia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A feeling of old Philadelphia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My 10-year-old granddaughter and I spent three nights at the BW Independence Park. She loved the old-fashioned feel of the place. It's location is ideal, with only a few blocks from most of the touring highlights of Philadelphia. Restaurants in the area abound. It is also very safe to walk around, even at night. The staff at reception were knowledgeable of the eateries in the area and that helped. Breakfast was not great, but OK. Our room had one queen-sized bed, which allowed for good room around it. The TV is in an armoire or highboy, but it didn't swivel, so you couldn't watch TV from bed. All in all, this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siliobarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    410
    74
    15
    14
See reviews for
395
502
65
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkman, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed on Wednesday and Thursday nites. The hotel is right on the edge of the historic district. Parking is not available on site but a nearby garage is very reasonable. You can easily walk to the historic sites. We took cabs otherwise. The desk staff was so helpful. Lynn made recommendations on where to eat (she was never wrong). She was always willing to help and was so pleasant. She made reservations for us twice and got us cabs as well. Unfortunately, we never had time for breakfast due to the fact that we were on a tight sight-seeing schedule, but it sure smelled good. There was always coffee and fruit available in the lobby. Free newspapers. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our visit to Philadelphia was effortless and memorable due to staying at the Independence Park Hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the staff is very helpful, and the treats and breakfast are delicious. But the best part is the location. We never took a cab but managed to see all of the historic sights we were interested in because they were right in the neighborhood, some only a short block away. These include Independence Hall, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitor Center, the Betsy Ross House, the Quaker Meeting House, and dozens of restaurants and other historic sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristiyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Several couples wanted to visit some museums and we wanted a location nearby. We searched the various hotels in the area and picked the Best Western near Independence Hall. There is always a certain amount of concern before arrival, but in this case, it was unfounded. We were greeted warmly and all of our rooms were available before the official check-in time. All of us were happy with our rooms and the overall feel of the hotel. The free breakfast was very good and attended by several staff--not just thrown together to satisfy "the free breakfast" routine.

We only stayed one night, but I would not have minded staying longer and I will definitely come back the next time we are in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on a weeknight while visiting Philadelphia. The location was fantastic. You are within walking distance to the historic sights and great restaurants. The staff was fabulous. During check-in, the lock on our door wouldn't work so maintenance was there in a flash to fix the problem. The rooms were clean but the bathroom was extremely small and did not seem heated. The main reason for the 3 stars and not higher is the price paid. The amount we paid here was higher than the military discount at the Omni (soldout). Therefore, it seemed very expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

A very nice small hotel near the historic section of Philly. It use to be a warehouse and was converted to a hotel. The staff were very nice and helpful. The Breakfasts were very nice as well with good coffee. Rooms were small but clean and neat. If I was to go to Philly again I would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: The room we had on the 4th floor was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RKuehnlenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My only complaint would be about the mattress, which was not comfortable for me. The room was lovely and very clean. Not huge, but big enough. We asked for a quiet room and were accommodated with a room on the fifth floor, away from the elevators. (Thank you!)

Breakfast was unimpressive. I skipped the steam table scrambled eggs, mediocre baked goods and instant oatmeal. Dry cereal, a banana and yogurt were fine, though it would have been nice to be tempted by some quality baked goods. The only fruit was a bowl of bananas, apples and oranges. They did have the do-it-yourself waffle scheme which my hubby enjoyed. Oh, one other complaint-- weak, bad coffee. I would have traded the whole buffet for a decent cup of coffee.

The staff was cheerful and helpful. Offered cookies on our arrival even though it was passed tea time. Later I heard the front desk person trying to track down a seafood restaurant for another guest. It was nice to see this concierge-type service at a mid-priced hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing