We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel close to attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel close to attractions”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel is located in an old building, so the rooms are small. This and lack of on-site parking (a parking garage is 1.5 blocks away) are the only deficiencies worth mentioning. On the positive side, the rooms are clean, the breakfast is very good (cold/hot cereal, yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles, sweets), the staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated few blocks away from the historical landmarks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Oleg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    427
    79
    15
    16
See reviews for
430
528
66
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a winter weekend in Philly (2 nights.) The Best Western near Independence Park is a great hotel with great location and service. We easily parked our car and were able to walk to all the historic sights. We discovered fun restaurants nearby. We'll be back in the fall with our daughter and son-in-law.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annmike20740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I hate to give this hotel 3 stars but thats what it is. Its an average hotel. Nothing great but nothing really bad. I was super happy with the hotel. I have nothing bad to say about it. On our way to the Dominican Republic we had a little problem with my passport and had to stay here on a sunday night. luckily the us customs house is right across the street so thats why we picked it (short walk in the morning and we missed our flight ne ways) This hotel is in a historic section of town. lots of cool buildings and brick roads in the vicinity. lots of history and great achitecture. close to an awesome dave and busters too and a movie plex where we saw lord of the rings. it was probably the most fun night i had on vacation since dominican republic was horrible. i was actually happy the denied my passport and wouldnt let us board the plane sunday morning.

Room Tip: They are all good i guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here 1 weekend night. The staff was very friendly and hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast included is good with hot and cold items. The location is perfect for doing the Independence National Park and the old city, all within short walking distance. Many restaurants also near the hotel. Will definitely stay here again if we do the old city again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for 1 nights but Staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Mr Craig in which he was able to check me in early. Location is convenient- short walk to subway which we took everywhere. Hotel was very clean and I loved the tea time. I'm looking to come back to Philly with my daughter for a weekend and will probably stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, PA
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel is in a great location in historic Old City, within walking distance to a number of attractions. Seem to have a very knowledgeble staff, and very friendly. Manager was also kind enough to help me out of a bind that I had with hotels.com (buyer beware!).

I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I loved this place. It is beautiful, clean, comfortable. The front desk staff were by far the best I have encountered! The room was magnificent. It didn't look or feel like a motel room, more like a bedroom. The bed was so comfortable, I didn't want to get out of it. The breakfast room was nice and the staff helpful. I would highly recommend this motel for anyone staying in the Philadelphia area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breezy6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Breezy6061,

"The BEST Best Western"; wow, what a great honor! We love your review and appreciate your posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Thanks.

And you had so many wonderful things to say about the Independence Park Hotel; "beautiful, clean, comfortable" plus, "magnificent, comfortable, helpful"...thank you, so much.

Anyway, I see you are from White Sulfur Springs, WV; home of the Greenbrier Resort; one of my favorite hotels. I am glad the Independence Park Hotel is now one of your favorite hotels!

Come back soon.

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,050 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing