We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton Junction
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Best Western three times and have been completely satsified each time. The staff at check-in are pleasant, helpful and efficient. Check-in is a breeze. The rooms are big, clean and very nice. The mattresses are soooo comfortable. Late afternoon they serve delcious cookies and tea. The locartion is perfect! You are a couple of blocks from Independence Park, with-in walking distance to the theater district, and if you don't mind a little bit of a hike, you can walk to South Street for some delicious cheesesteaks. There are many restaurants by the hotel and tow parking garages right around the corner ($18-24 for overnight) The rates for the Best Western are outstanding for all that you get. The breakfast is fine---fruit, cereal, danish, muffins, waffles, yougurt, scrambled eggs (not so hot) and really good sausage. Great place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glomom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    379
    70
    14
    14
See reviews for
351
450
61
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a very good visit on 30 Dec 2012. Excellent check in staff and great location. Relatively easy to park at the City lot about a block away. Room was clean, roomy, modern, and well outfitted. Wireless worked fine. Lots of stuff to do around the area, including good restaurants. We asked the hotel to keep our bags until we departed on day of checkout, and they provided this without a question. We enjoyed the whole experience and we would recommend it and go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandriaVAJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear AlexandriaVAJim;

Thank you for selecting the Independence Park Hotel and for telling the world about your enjoyable visit with us. We certainly appreciate both!

It was great to hear that you had an "Excellent check in" and that your "Room was clean, roomy, modern, and well outfitted." This is great news, since we are also Philadelphia's most historic hotel!

But of all the nice comments you wrote, my favorite is when you said " We enjoyed the whole experience and we would recommend it and go back without hesitation." This tells me that we did our job and that you enjoyed your stay at the Independence Park Hotel.

I will certainly share your review with our staff and look forward to your return!

Thanks

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick, ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Historic hotel with character. Very clean with friendly staff. Room #502 with alcove was very comfortable for two adults and two large teens, located on the back side of the hotel and was quiet. King bed was firm. Lobby has coffee, fruit, and cookies daily and lovely wine and cheese on Wednesday night. Breakfast was the same everyday, scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, muffins, bread, yogurt, fruit and cereal. Coffee was good. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Parking around the corner. Hotel is centrally located in the historic district. We walked everywhere including the penitentiary and The Franklin Institute. It took us about 25-30 minutes to get there but most historic sites are within a 2-10 minute walk. We had a great dinner at the City Tavern Restaurant.

Room Tip: Check in first. There is 30 minute parking in front of the hotel. The front desk will give you dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ksa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very nice hotel in a restored building that is nothing like your run of the mill Best Western. Only two complaints. I) it was always quite chilly in the breakfast area and we ate there three days.
2) My biggest complaint was that the AAA book said "Parking On site-fee". This hotel's idea of "On Site" is a city parking garage a block away!! Cost us $55 for three days!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Whenever I come to Philly, which is very often, my family and I stay at the Best Western. It is clean, the service could not be better, the location is extremely convenient and in a wonderful part of town.

An added bonus is the breakfast. The dining room and all of the facilities are beautifully furnished with periof furniture. And then, at 4, there is tea and cookies in the lobby.

This hotel does not feel like a hotel. It feels like you are staying at someone's home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was a great find in Philadelphia. We went for a quick AAA drive trip over a weekend. The weather was great, so we were able to walk all over the Old City. Something about the hotel reminded me of many in Europe or England. The room was clean and neatly furnished -- nothing spectacular, but a nice big TV and free wi-fi make up for a lot. :) The bed was really comfortable.The tea and cookies were a nice touch, and the breakfast was decent, but nothing special. What made this an exceptional stay were the location and the staff. Everyone was polite and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ercuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance of the harbor and many historic sites. Unique building and location- room was comfortable and nice snacks in lobby. Also breakfast included. My husband and I walked to Independence Hall, Betsy Ross house, Liberty Bell, the Oldest Quaker church and oldest Jewish temple in Philadelphia. Enjoyed a delicious Philly cheesesteak sandwich a couple of blocks away at Campo's Deli. Great time in the birthplace of our country!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#6 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#9 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing