We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed two nights at this hotel. It is a nice small hotel that offers a free breakfast (continental only with a paid upgrade available) and close to $18 per night parking. There is no bell man so you have to park in front and lug your own bags up to the rack that hopefully is present. You can park for up to 20 minutes without a problem to do this. The hotel appears to have some age but has character. Our room had high ceilings and was cozy. The only thing that was not cozy was hearing a radio all night somewhere under our room. We were informed that the maintenance man apparently leaves it on. It did not bother my wife but I am a light sleeper. The hotel's biggest plus to me is that it is right in the historic area of Philadelphia and all the sights can be reached on foot. There are a lot of restaurants to the East toward the river.

Room Tip: I like the first floor room with the high ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    433
    79
    15
    16
See reviews for
444
537
68
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ma
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

i was taking a trip with my adlut daughter and her cousin who was 15 at the time, my sister in law also came along. we flue down from southwest airlines from providence for 29.oo each way, we stayed at the best western because we split the room 3 ways and it ended up costing us about 80.00 a piece for 3 nights and for day, we had no idea where we were going, but had a ball, we visited the historic museums and walked to everyone of them, the restaurents where great, ran the stairs where rocky was filmed , had our picture taken with the statue, would go back in a heartbeat, the hotel was a junior suite, fold out couch and 2 full beds in a separte room, breakfast include, all in all the room was very comfortable and clean , also had a kitchenette, and a restaurant,

Room Tip: junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suwwoz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The stuff was very friendly and helpful, The room was quite spacious and comfortable, and well-designed. the hotel is very close to the old city and independence park. the hotel offer continental breakfast, which is very basic and you can add about 5 $ to get full breakfast. other hotels in this level offer the full breakfast as standart for the guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel was in a very good location. It was very clean and had very nice rooms.
My family came down and we stayed in 3 separate rooms and all 3 rooms were clean and nice.
Some of the staff wasn’t very friendly but the other staff members that were friendly made up for that.
My only complaint would be the complementary breakfast. They only had cereal, fruit and toast on the buffet.
If you requested a waffle, eggs or sausage that was a $4.95 upgrade.
That should be included in the complementary breakfast. I don’t think a waffle rates $4.95

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and ask for the PHilly overnight package that is the best value because it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford Hills, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Great hotel! Staff was friendly, professionsal and helpful. Beautiful and clean lobby and room. Nice continental breakfast and option to upgrade to a full breakfast. Afternoon cookies and tea. Great location~easy walking distance to a number of sites. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyala1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is a pretty hotel, with a friendly staff, but our room was tiny and very odd shaped. The air conditioning vent was directly over the bed. My husband and I both woke up with sore throats. The walls (or maybe the adjoining door) were thin. We could hear the television and then the man next to us snoring.
The "free" breakfast was very lacking. Toast, donuts, english muffins, and green bananas. The "upgraded" breakfast was scrambled eggs, sausage links and yogurt. None of it was appetizing. We walked down the street to Cosi,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin_Birdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Fabulous hotel in the historic district, great for walking to all the historic sights. Very nice room with mini refrigerator and microwave as well as free high speed internet. Very personable staff willing to help in any way. Lovely lobby area where afternoon refreshments were served. Would definitely return here in the future and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,140 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing