We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Very nice and quiet hotel. Has the feel of a Bed & Breakfast. Staff is friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the Tea and Cookies in the afternoon. A nice thought for travelers. Was surprised that a Best Western Plus doesn't have a flat screen TV though.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swagnersir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,318 - 1,324 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2011

I was going to Philly for a friend's wedding and loved my little room. I stayed the weekend and due to the Best Western's great location was able to explore the city a bit before the wedding festivities without having to take a cab or take public transportation. The hotel doesn't have a gym in it, but you can get a day pass for $10 to the gym down the street (only a few blocks away). The rooms were clean and the staff were nice and helpful. I wish the lighting in the bathroom was a little better and that there was wireless internet in the rooms, instead of ethernet internet in the rooms,but otherwise it was a good deal and I would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silktree18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The hotel was nice. Breakfast was just fine... no need to up grade. We found the hotel to be REALLY loud. Every morning we were woken up by something (construction, drunks, etc.). The room was a lot smaller than we thought, but decent. The staff was GREAT! So nice and sweet. Lots of great places to eat in the area. Expect to pay a lot for dinner, transportation, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DnN072410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

It is a fine, reasonably-priced place to stay for visiting the historical city - only a block or two from the Liberty Bell Museum, Independence Hall and other attractions, and walking distance (10 blocks) to Convention Hall. Staff was uniformly friendly and helpful at all times. Be aware that there is no parking; a 3-day stay added $54. in parking fees, and there is no in and out - once you leave, you can't come back unless you are willing to pay full rate again. Free breakfast is modest - cereals, muffins, juice and coffee. We were a bit taken aback by the bottle of flavored water in the room that was offered at $3. A free bottle of plain water would have been a nicer touch. However, there were tea and cookies in the lobby each afternoon, and wine and cheese one day. Many restaurants of all types close by - many a bit pricey for the rundown neighborhood east of the hotel - one hopes the restaurants are helping to bring the neighborhood back since everything west of the hotel is the well-kept historical area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iroquois16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

This used to be an outstanding hotel--convenient, clean, and quiet. Now there is a night club next door with pounding bass until 2 am even on weekdays. The vibrations were so bad the windows in my room rattled with every THUNKA-THUNKA. The staff kindly moved me from the second to the fourth floor, but that was no improvement at all. It's a shame, I used to stay there a lot: the hotel is lovely, the staff helpful, the location convenient--but you can't sleep there anymore until that nightclub is closed down.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank frabreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The hotel was perfectly situated for the four of us adults to enjoy many amenities of the wonderful city of Philadelphia. One day we walked over 7 miles in pursuit of seeing the many historical buildings and sites from our fore fathers time in the city. We encouraged all who will listen to make time to go to Philadelphia and revisit the beginnings of our marvelous country. It would be worthwhile, we felt, if all politicians would be required to spend two days reviewing the history behind the men and their principles that created our government.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambeebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Loved the fruit/wine & cheese and cookies in the lobby. The small room was nicely decorated and felt "cozy", rather than "cramped"... like a real "country inn". GREAT location near Independence Hall, but our objective was the new National Museum of American Jewish History which is just two blocks away. Excellent selection of restaurants within a two-block radius of the hotel. Easy on/off the Ben Franklin Bridge to New Jersey.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nsark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,555 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,358 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $131 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing