We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, reasonable price, clean rooms, quiet area close to restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2011

It is a fine, reasonably-priced place to stay for visiting the historical city - only a block or two from the Liberty Bell Museum, Independence Hall and other attractions, and walking distance (10 blocks) to Convention Hall. Staff was uniformly friendly and helpful at all times. Be aware that there is no parking; a 3-day stay added $54. in parking fees, and there is no in and out - once you leave, you can't come back unless you are willing to pay full rate again. Free breakfast is modest - cereals, muffins, juice and coffee. We were a bit taken aback by the bottle of flavored water in the room that was offered at $3. A free bottle of plain water would have been a nicer touch. However, there were tea and cookies in the lobby each afternoon, and wine and cheese one day. Many restaurants of all types close by - many a bit pricey for the rundown neighborhood east of the hotel - one hopes the restaurants are helping to bring the neighborhood back since everything west of the hotel is the well-kept historical area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iroquois16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,347 - 1,353 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2011

This used to be an outstanding hotel--convenient, clean, and quiet. Now there is a night club next door with pounding bass until 2 am even on weekdays. The vibrations were so bad the windows in my room rattled with every THUNKA-THUNKA. The staff kindly moved me from the second to the fourth floor, but that was no improvement at all. It's a shame, I used to stay there a lot: the hotel is lovely, the staff helpful, the location convenient--but you can't sleep there anymore until that nightclub is closed down.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank frabreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The hotel was perfectly situated for the four of us adults to enjoy many amenities of the wonderful city of Philadelphia. One day we walked over 7 miles in pursuit of seeing the many historical buildings and sites from our fore fathers time in the city. We encouraged all who will listen to make time to go to Philadelphia and revisit the beginnings of our marvelous country. It would be worthwhile, we felt, if all politicians would be required to spend two days reviewing the history behind the men and their principles that created our government.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambeebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Loved the fruit/wine & cheese and cookies in the lobby. The small room was nicely decorated and felt "cozy", rather than "cramped"... like a real "country inn". GREAT location near Independence Hall, but our objective was the new National Museum of American Jewish History which is just two blocks away. Excellent selection of restaurants within a two-block radius of the hotel. Easy on/off the Ben Franklin Bridge to New Jersey.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nsark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We only stayed one night but we were definitely pleased with the accommodations provided. If I had ANY complaint, it would be that when we first turned the shower on (at around 7pm) the water was luke warm at best, but just when I was feeling down about it, it started to heat up and we didn't have a problem again. The rooms were clean and well kept and the whole hotel is very cute!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nafpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We had booked to stay at the hotel through Best Western Central Booking Line over the new year period for a 6 night stay from 28 December - 3 January.

Getting to the hotel was very easy by public transport so no need to pay for a cab from Philadelphia airport. We went to the information desk, where they give you the phone to ring Lady Liberty. After a 20 minute wait a van pulled up with room for about 12 passengers. 30 minutes later we were dropped at our hotel for a flat $10 each. The journey would have been quicker if there had been fewer drop offs.

A rather unimpressive exterior but the lobby with small lounge area was pleasant enough, nothing grand but quite homely. A computer with free internet access was useful.

Michelle who was truly delightful checked us in, she was very helpful & knowledgeable. We had requested a quiet room and were given as such (Room 505).

Room was a good size, with character if not a little tired in places & thick dust under the desk and at the sides of the room. What we really strongly objected to was the stale smell of what seemed to be cigarette. There was a notice in the room saying there would be a charge of $250 if anyone smoked in the room, so we were surprised by the smell. It disappeared after a few days and then returned. The windows are fixed & couldn't be opened. Good storage but shame no safe, you can request a safety storage box kept behind reception but it would be so much easier to have in the room.

The bed was wonderfully comfortable, the duvet cosy and pillows plump. The bathroom was well equipped and spacious.

Breakfast was very disappointing - hard, dried up microwaved scrambled egg & tasteless sausages, uninteresting sliced bread & small muffins. Best part were the waffles which you make yourself & can add maple syrup or a (tinned?) fruit compote.

Tea & cookies every day in the lobby at tea time were a nice touch.

Places we'd recommend to visit within a 5 minute walk; turning right out of the hotel - Independence Park, get timed free ticket for Independence Hall from the Visitor Centre, Liberty Bell also free, National Constitution Center $12 pp & American Jewish History Museum $12 pp all worth seeing.

Also, turning left out of the hotel, 1st left into 2nd, cross over Market Street & continue along 2nd till you get to Elfreth's Alley (the oldest inhabited street in the US), about a10 minute walk from the hotel. Delightful, quaint street - a must do is the guided tour $5 pp which leaves from the museum shop. After that Betsy Ross house $3 pp, go back to 2nd, it is between 2nd & 3rd on Arch Street. Betsy is reputed to have sewn the first stars and stripes. There is a character in full costume who plays Betsy and amusingly interacts with visitors.

Reading Terminal Market, at 12th and Arch Street about a 30 - 40 minute walk from the hotel is a must, amazing array of food to buy & either take away or sit down to eat in seating areas by some of the stalls, gifts & crafts too. Lots of stalls run by the Amish communities who are dressed in their traditional clothes - we bought delicious home-made peanut butter in tubs to bring home.

We had been told about The Barnes Foundation outside the city, an extraordinary collection of priceless masterpieces by e.g Van Gogh, Renoir & Cézanne. Have to prebook on-line $15 pp + $2 booking fee pp. Bit of a trek to get there but well worth it - Bus 44 (direction Ardmore) from 5th & Market Street, get off at Old Lancaster Road & Latches Lane, then 5 minute walk. There are no signs to Foundation, so you have to ask exactly where it is.

Shopping - in town, Macy's at 1300 Market Street, out of town, superb mall - King of Prussia Mall, bus 124 or 125 $3.50 pp each way at 13th & Market Street, about 45 minutes. Also Franklin Mills Factory Outlets with Ralph Lauren, Hilfiger & Gap, turn left out of hotel, left into 2nd, take 'L' train Eastbound to Frankford Transportation Centre, then bus 20 or 50,total journey about 75 minutes.

Few good places to eat - Khyber Pass on 2nd Street (excellent selection of cask beers) & City Tavern in Society Hill a must for history & ambiance (food not great though, we got 50% off vouchers from the hotel lobby) & Imperial Inn in China Town (reasonable set menu & good quality food).

To return to the airport, we got a cab to the station $7+ tip, then the train which was $6.25 each (taxi would have been $28.50 + tip).

Our 6 days in Philadelphia were perfect, plenty to see of great historical interest & places nearby enough to visit for some good shopping. The hotel we would recommend for its location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank awmw2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Room was small but we had a great time.. Breakfast was good.. We will visit again

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panrere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 89 in Philadelphia
5,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#10 of 89 in Philadelphia
3,430 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $167 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing