We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sister Act Goes Mexican”
Review of Xochitl

Xochitl
Reserve with OpenTable
Xochitl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #950 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Pine Street
Description: Xochitl serves traditional Mexican fare with a modern twist in a fun and comfortable setting. Enjoy fresh made guacamole, antojitos, ceviches, and platos fuertes. Two full service bars feature hand-squeezed margaritas and fresh specialty cocktails. Our extensive tequila list features over 70 bottles.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sister Act Goes Mexican”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My sister and I spent a fun filled Saturday evening at Xochitl. Our waiter, Josh, was great. We sat down and told him that we planned on eating our way through (most of) the appetizer menu. We started with the Blood Orange Martini (which is a yummy-d up version of a margarita). The design it yourself guacamole was an inspired idea. It was delicious! The Queso Fundido with the chorizo was excellent and not overly spicy. The mole chicken drummettes were good, but we would have been happy to have a bowl of the mole and forgone the chicken (a little too much fat - a little too little meat). Crab ceviche? Yum.
Mango cake for dessert? Yup! We had fun, the wait staff was sweet, and we'll go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    35
    15
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
330 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent Mex in a good location.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good Margaritas, custom made with fresh squeezed limes by Kate, who was a fantastic bartender. We ended up eating at the bar since she told us the midweek special was the Molcajete Special-make your own tacos with a great selection of ingredients. Also great, customizable quacamole ordered from a checklist of available options. Loved it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSnood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Tequila Place”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We walked in when they just closed down the place. After begging for few minutes, they decided to open the bar for a quick shot. If I had another night to stay in town, I would have enjoyed a full night at this cozy, friendly and full of tequila place!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cagatay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not your typical mexican”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Yes yes, I know they call it a Tequila bar, but the food is pretty darn good. The guac, especially the spicy, is really good, and for $9 it better be. The portion is the size of a softball, so they do give you a decent amount. Everyone seemed satisfied with their meal, I got the seared salmon which was really really good. Whatever that sauce was...I will come back for that plate again. Service was so-so, it took about 30 minutes to get a glass of wine after I ordered it. Also, the waiter gave us different wine than what we had ordered, or charged it completely differently and tacked on $2. Since it was a group, we didn't realize until after, so really my mistake. All in all, I would return and recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Level Contributor
150 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Order the Guacamole”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Besides the initial problem of them trying to seat us in the basement where it was damp and warm, it was amazing. The margaritas are really good but pricey. Two margaritas at the bar while we waited for a table upstairs coat $28.00 before tip. They make the guacamole to order and there's a checklist to add other ingredients. It's delicious. The food is very authentic and so was the dessert we got. Service was excellent. Two people two drinks each, guacamole, two meals, one dessert roughly $100 plus tip I think give or take. I'd definitely go back. Place isn't very big and we found street parking on a Saturday at 7.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denjolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xochitl also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Xochitl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing