We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to hang out with friends.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tavern 17

Tavern 17
Ranked #1,712 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Chancellor Street
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place to hang out with friends.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice relaxing place to have drinks with friends. Service was slow one evening but we'll let it pass..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynrounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    28
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A dinner to satisfy all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We dined on 10/13, having reserved through opentable.com They accomodated our early arrival cordially and asked for our drink order not long after we sat. The service was efficient. I advise you skip the bakery basket as it is not a good value, but its tapenade was quite good. We all enjoyed our entrees of mac & cheese, burger, and fish and chips. Prices for food and alcoholic beverages were fair and consistent with the class of the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FaithieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food; ask for utensils!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

visited during Philadelphia restaurant week; the menu was terrific, well priced; reservations a must. The service was really poor; we needed to ask for place settings, napkins, sugar for coffee 9no kidding!) though each was provided; often by the manager of the co-located hotel.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jjulia48305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Attached to our hotel, food and drink plentiful, many beers to choose from , food lovely, try the steak very nice!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KPRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You don't have enough time to go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

First they'll ignore you then they'll forget about... You will need to go ask inside for a menu and then ask again (30 minutes after getting up again to go tell them you are ready to order) if you're order is ready. The enamame was ok but the focaccia? It was 2 slices of drenched supermarket baguette with old el paso salsa on top. At least they took some of the salsa water out unless it was the bread that did that...

Helpful?
Thank Jean-Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 17 also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Tavern 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing