We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Live Music and food”
Review of World Cafe Live

World Cafe Live
Ranked #1,469 of 4,388 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: University City
Cross street: 30th Street
Transit: We're located just two blocks from 30th Street Train Station!! Easy access from the Market/Frankfort line and various parts of the city; or use any of the regional rail lines from any of the outlying areas.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Live Music and food”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had never been to the World Cafe, didn't even know it existed until we wanted to see a new artist, Rumor. She was playing at the World Cafe so we bought tickets and to our surprise had a wonderful night of not only great music but a fabulous dinner as well. We sat in the balcony, which allowed us to have a wonderful view of the stage and to sit back an relax on the couch as we watch Rumor perform. It was a Tuesday night, and in the Upstairs Cafe they had local artist playing which is where we finished of the evening with a night cap. Great evening, easy drive, easy parking and great food and music. This is a wonderful venue for group outings and parties as well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smilingjulx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent music venue”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I've seen a few bands here over the years, and it's a great way to see bands you like. Nice and intimate, mature crowd just looking to have a good time. Heartily recommend this place. We even went on a night when it was an "all ages night" with my 2 daughters who are both under 21, and it was a really pleasant night.

Helpful?
Thank NJTravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome venue”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I've been here twice now to meet friends for happy hour and for concerts and I always look forward to it. This is one of those instances when you "can't just a book by its cover" because the inside is Gorgeous!!! The bars and staff are so much fun, clean and friendly. The food - OH my goodness, I luv it!!!!

Helpful?
Thank jajabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, PA
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great venue, iffy on the food”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We've been the World Cafe Live twice now, once in July 2010 and again in Sept 2011. For music, the venue is terrific! Last year we planned to have dinner there before the show. The food was pretty terrible. This year, we had dinner elsewhere and just had light fare (Caesar salad & maryland crab dip with warm pitas) and it was A LOT better. The Caesar was excellent. The crab dip wasn't bad either. One word of warning. If you go with the first row of reserved seats (according to their floor plan) you'll be at the floor level. We didn't understand this at first, because it's absolutely ridiculous. But, you will be paying for reserved seats (these are standard height stackable chairs) while all of the "Standing Room Only" people stand directly in front of you. For the 2010 show it was a real problem since they were completely blocking your the show from view so the reserved people had to go stand in standing room to see anything. It would make sense that those seats should be raised (or the standing room area should be sunken) so that you could see the show above the standing room crowd. For 2011 they seemed to improve it a little by eliminating the side tables so people could spread out closer to the stage. The reserved seat people seemed to be able to see and the standing room weren't packed together so tightly. If they switched the reserved tables to bar height, it would probably solve the problem entirely. Maybe next year?

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amethyst1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for music, but eat someplace else!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a great venue for music; have seen many shows there. But the food is really terrible, just awful. They can't even get simple things right, like apple pie... it was inedible. So go for a great show, but have dinner at one of the great restaurants Philly has to offer!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Cafe Live also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to World Cafe Live? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing