We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Rittenhouse Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AKA Rittenhouse Square
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights midweek 17th September. The staff at check in & throughout the stay we're incredibly courteous. We enjoyed an evening in the bar, again service very good. The location is fantastic. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Getmedown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementakars, General Manager at AKA Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Getmedown,
Thank you for sharing your experience via Trip Advisor. I'm glad to hear that the team took great care of your needs. We're very excited about our newest amenity "a.bar", which it seems you took the opportunity to enjoy. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Regards,
Evan O'Donnell
General Manager
AKA Rittenhouse Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    16
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
20
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here first week of August as our home base to tour Philadelphia historic sites. Our room was a one bedroom suite with full kitchen and was lovely! Very spacious, all recently rebuilt interior. Well furnished with everything you could need for cooking if you choose to. Right across the street from Rittenhouse Park which was very nice. A lot of very good restaurants close by, including aka Kitchen on site. Neighborhood grocery two blocks away, two Starbucks within two blocks. Noise level was a bit loud late night on Saturday but to be expected due to the large concentration of condos in the neighborhood along with the concentration of restaurants and bars. We felt very safe at night walking the neighborhood. Well populated with young people due to the nearby condos. Great value at $200 a night on the weekends, $160 weekdays. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be quieter, we were on the 8th floor and could still hear street noise pretty cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementakars, General Manager at AKA Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Ron L,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience via Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed the spacious accommodations, and had the opportunity to enjoy some of the activity that makes the Rittenhouse Square neighborhood so special. We hope to host you again in the near future.

Regards,
Evan O'Donnell
General Manager
AKA Rittenhouse Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Have stayed just over a month May/June 2013 for my daughter graduation at Penn. We took two bedroom apartment. We were very comfortable and happy with the accommodation and the hotel personals. During the last four years have visited Philadelphia three times. Have stayed at three hotels / apartments including the recent AKA. By far most enjoyable and comfortable for myself and family is AKA Rittenhouse Square.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementakars, General Manager at AKA Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
PapaBear77,
Thank you for your thoughtful feedback regarding your stay at AKA Rittenhouse Square. I am very pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your accommodations. Congratulations to your daughter for her graduation from Penn. We hopeful to host you on future visits to Philadelphia.

Regards,
Evan O'Donnell
General Manager
AKA Rittenhouse Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan City, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 8 days here, and loved it. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the location perfect. Our two bedroom suite was lovely and well appointed. There were nice shops and fine dining restaurants really close by. Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Try for a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geggy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementakars, General Manager at AKA Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Geggy28,
Thank you for the "wonderful" review via Trip Advisor. It was great to hear your positive experience and I am very pleased to hear that the team took such great care of you and your party. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon.

Regards,
Evan O'Donnell
General Manager
AKA Rittenhouse Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous location at Rittenhouse Square and the suites are incredible...huge and nice and quiet! The suite has a large living room, kitchen and beautiful bedroom. The bathroom is modern and all white marble. This hotel is a real winner! Will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 4starrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementakars, General Manager at AKA Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
4starrs,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to see that you had such a fabulous stay and enjoyed the spacious suites here at AKA Rittenhouse Square. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon here in Philadelphia or any of our AKA locations.

Regards,
Evan O'Donnell
General Manager
AKA Rittenhouse Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My first time in Philly was made more comfortable by Aka. The hotel offers a very good kitchen(something that I require in a hotel). They're situated in a great neighborhood next to Rittenhouse Park. Access to public transportation(buses,trains and tour trolleys & double deckers) is close by. Attached to the hotel is a restaurant called "a.Kitchen" which had good food and good staff.

My complaints were the small bathrooms, small TV's and Laundry service that was a day late!

P.S. The deliciously deadly cupcake bakery CRUMB is one block away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertDean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementakars, General Manager at AKA Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear RobertDean W,
It's great to hear that you had chosen AKA Rittenhouse Square for your introduction to Philadelphia. Thank you for the positive review, as I'm glad you enjoyed our unique accommodations. We have a number of different suite layouts, should your travels bring you back to Philadelphia, please mention such so we can tailor your preferences. My apologies for the laundry service not being returned the same day.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon.

Regards,
Evan O'Donnell
General Manager
AKA Rittenhouse Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week in April 2013 and had the best experience. The location was perfect--right on the park, in one of the nicest areas of town with several of the best restaurants on the same block. It was also close to the subway station for easy access throughout town. We had a comfortable one bedroom apartment with a kitchen for less than $200/night. It was nice and clean, and we had great service from the concierage staff. They also had a gym, washer/dryer, and computers available for use. I will stay at aka Hotels again and highly recommend them. Thanks.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms on the 2nd floor where the gym and wash room facilities are located because of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementakars, General Manager at AKA Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Cathy S.,
Thank you for sharing your experience at AKA Rittenhouse Square via Trip Advisor. It's great to hear that you had the best experience and appreciate you recommending AKA. While our website often shows the advantages of our location and accommodations, I always enjoy the intangible feedback about our stellar service team. We look forward to hosting you and your husband again in the near future.

Regards,
Evan O'Donnell
General Manager
AKA Rittenhouse Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,948 reviews
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#14 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Rittenhouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Rittenhouse Square

Property: AKA Rittenhouse Square
Address: 135 S 18th St, Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#42 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Rittenhouse Square 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your AKA Rittenhouse Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Rittenhouse Square Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing