We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Desk Staff, Perfect Location, Conservative Upscale Deco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AKA Rittenhouse Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AKA Rittenhouse Square
Ranked #56 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Chicago
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic Desk Staff, Perfect Location, Conservative Upscale Deco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

POSITIVES: This is an exceptional facility that mixes class with a perfect location next to the Rittenhouse Square Park. Its a perfect Park to just sit in the sun and watch people from 4 different directions. Its perfect for folks that are probably okay with a nice Hotel room, but really appreciate and can justify a better facility with a separate living room with an entertainment center and a full kitchen with a dishwasher. There are two 32" flat screen TV's with Comcast cable. I was able to pop my lap top onto the HDMI connector to watch some movies I had on my lap top. I stayed a week on business, but would have been happy to stay longer just to soak in this fantastic City and great place, The desk staff was very friendly and it felt like they were an extension of services for the stay. I travel allot on business. Philly is a big thumbs up City and aka Rittenhouse Square is where I will stay again.

OTHER FACTORS - OFF A BIT: The maid service was a bit off. The trash was to be removed daily and they missed two days. I was to have the sheets changed twice, they only did it once. However, I did receive all the extra towels I asked for. There is no room safe, which I find severely disconcerting as long term travelers usually have more cash and aka appeals to long term stays. That really angered me. Modern hotels are "with" the program. aka relies on video audit surveillance and access control cards on room locks and elevator access from the lobby - which are all very reasonable. I want to feel safe and having to resort to locking my cash in my luggage bag every day was annoying and not as good as a common hotel room safe. The bed was a bit hard "for me". Most upscale hotels have pillow tops on firm bases. aka has just a solid firm bed. The bedding materials were quite nice and everything was clean.

Room Tip: When checking in ask what view you will have. I preferred to view 18th. street. I always travel with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryrobinson1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaManagement, Manager at AKA Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Mr Robinson,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of AKA Rittenhouse Square. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay, and particularly that the Guest Services team made your stay even more memorable. I appreciate your for the feedback in regard to the housekeeping services and it allows us to investigate this shortfall in service with our team. My apologies for the inconvenience.

I can understand your concerns in regards to the lack of an in-room safe. I am pleased to share that we have plans to install in-room safes to all suites by the end of the year. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Regards,
Evan O'Donnell
General Manager
AKA Rittenhouse Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    24
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
23
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

A beautiful property, with a great staff. We stayed for several days in a two-room suite and had ample room (with a folding table and chairs) to host several family meals. The suites have the feel of a comfortable, up-scale apartment. The staff is very, very accomodating. The price is a bit high, but not out of line given the fantasic location and the quality of the property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaManagement, Manager at AKA Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
David M,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of AKA Rittenhouse Square. I am pleased to see that you and your family had a great stay with us. We look forward to hosting you and your family again in the future.

Regards,
Evan O'Donnell
General Manager
AKA Rittenhouse Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The AKA is a well-cared for property. The hotel is geared more for the extended stay business traveler, but is a good option for couples who are simply in Philly as tourists. I value the fridge as it allows us to store any leftovers from dinner. Also nice is the onsite laundry. The main issue with the hotel is the noise from the street. I have stayed on the 18th St and Walnut St sides, and would recommend the 18th St side as it is somewhat quieter. Understandably, the street noise is more of an issue on Friday and Saturday nights. Although the hotel is close to Rittenhouse Square, only a few rooms have a view of the Square.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DovidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I travel to Philadelphia for work and for leisure. We've stayed at this hotel 4-5 times in the last two years, each stay surpassing the previous as we get to know they staff and they us. The new restaurant at the hotel is superb!
We love this hotel because it feels like an upper west side apartment with enough kitchen to allow you to prepare purchases from the Farmer's market @ Rittenhouse Square on Saturdays; we love this hotel because the staff is courteous, friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the area; we love this hotel because of its central location near great restaurants (shout out to The Marathon -- again!), shopping, museums and the park along the Schuykill River where I go running in the morning.
What you won't find here are kids running in the halls, bored tourists in a soul-less lobby, obligatory bad breakfasts -- and that's fine with us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYTravMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel is superbly located. The customer service is second to none - excellent!! Having had such a terrible hotel experience in Boston, what a relief to stay somewhere that was clean, well maintained and offered excellent value for money. I would strongly recommend this hotel whether travelling for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United states
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This all suite hotel benefits from the best location in Philadelphia and is in the heart of Rittenhouse square where all the shopping and restaurants are and of course the park which is beautiful. The rooms are beautiful . I have stayed there twice, once in a one bedroom suite and once in a studio suite. Both rooms were beautiful, and comfortable. Now the hotel has an outstanding restaurant located off the lobby called a.kitchen. This restaurant is one of the best places to eat in Philadelphia and I look forward to every visit there. If you stay at the hotel you must check out the restaurant. Overall, this hotel has it all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrea212212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I effectively lived at the AKA at Rittenhouse Square for six or seven months while in Philadelphia on business, and I greatly enjoyed my time there. The rooms are clean and amazingly well-furnished, the cleaning service is competent and prompt, food from a.kitchen is AMAZING, and the staff is helpful and accommodating. The Studio rooms are very cramped, but with the aforementioned furnishings it doesn't matter at all.

One thing to note is that not all rooms or suites are created equal - different layouts give the suites different square footage and often add vestigal rooms for use as studies or offices. Also, neither studios or single-bedroom suites with numbers ending in 1 contain bathtubs, so be aware of that.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors will be much much quieter - the third floor off of the street is just too lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nekheny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#21 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Rittenhouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Rittenhouse Square

Property: AKA Rittenhouse Square
Address: 135 S 18th St, Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#42 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Rittenhouse Square 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your AKA Rittenhouse Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Rittenhouse Square Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing