We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the trip”
Review of Osteria

Osteria
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #142 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wallace Street
Transit: Septa Subway Broad Street Line Spring Garden Street
Description: "Convivial and inviting, Osteria's heart is its open main kitchen from which its award-winning menu of antipasti, homemade pastas, house-cured salumi, authentic Neapolitan and Roman-style pizzas, wood-grilled meats, seafood and decadent desserts are crafted. Drawing its inspiration from traditional osterias found in Northern Italy, Osteria is the realization of a dream Vetri Family partners Jeff Benjamin and Chefs Marc Vetri and Jeff Michaud had while standing amongst the grapes of the Ca'Marcanda vineyards in Tuscany. Since opening in 2007, Osteria has become one of the country's most critically acclaimed Italian restaurants, receiving a 3-out-of-4 bell review from the Philadelphia Inquirer, and earning Chef Michaud the 2010 James Beard Foundation Award for "Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic" for his work helming the kitchen."
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located in North Philly, so driving is a must if you are in Center City. Nice decor, nice crowd. Food was average. Had the poussin which was dry, and came with a weird sausage mash. Also portion size was tiny - another half poussin was required.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    95
    57
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food and service was some of the best I've ever had! I can't remember our server's name, but she was extremely attentive and her product knowledge was outstanding. Dining at Osteria is a must if you're in the Philly area!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“unusal”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

good location--great decor--good variety of food--all that we had we really liked----we were 6 people, so we tried lots of different coices

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jeveloff369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm....good food!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We decided to take our foodie son out for a special dinner to celebrate his 19th birthday and his last weekend home before leaving for college. We hoped to treat him to a special meal he would thoroughly enjoy. Osteria did not disappoint. The decor is lovely and very comfortable. The food is delicious, exciting and truly memorable. The service was friendly and professional. I think the neighborhood is fine and they do have valet parking. It was definitely the right choice for our son's special night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

While in town for an international conference and after reading several reviews we chose to dine here. From our arrival to the final course we found the service to be flawless, every course of our meal was outstanding, and the wine list was impressive. We dine out frequently, both in the States and abroad, and Osteria really stands out as one of the finest dinners we have had in recent years. Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesTraveldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing