We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a must in Philly”
Review of Franklin Fountain

Franklin Fountain
Ranked #4 of 87 Dessert in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Franklin Fountain aims to serve an experience steeped in ideals, drizzled with drollery, and sprinkled with the forgotten flavors of the American past.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a must in Philly”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved this place. the setting is of a simpler time, but the taste is so much bigger. they make every thing right there, I had the best ice cream ever. you can sit inside or outside, or they can make it to go. the variety is huge.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MARCRISTONELLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    167
    63
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Best Olde Fashioned Ice-Cream Shoppe!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My favorite little stopping place when I visit Penn's Landing in Philadelphia. Their seasonal flavors are always worth trying. At my last visit, I had a scoop each of pumpkin and ginger ice-cream. YUM!
I enjoy taking friends and relatives. It's a delightful little shop with friendly servers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuthR655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great ice cream, but the crowds would keep us away next time”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our family found that waiting on line for twenty minutes for an ice cream at a place with little seating (some tables outside where you are stalked once you start eating by other customers, staring you down so you want to leave) is not my idea of fun. A lot of places have good icea cream. I don't want to wait on line and then have to juggle five people in three seats with a tiny table.
If it wasn't so crowded I would rate it better, so I guess my review is about the experience, not just the actual ice cream.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandyplayercarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great ice cream and experience”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I went with friends, so we were able to get several sundaes and share. It was amazing ice cream, well worth the cost. The staff was very friendly and there was a lot of outdoor seating.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank limegreenchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
1,149 reviews
921 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“What a great blast into the historical past.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We went for the best egg cream in Philadelphia and found not one but two. The New York style was perfect done as I remembered as a child in chocolate. The Philadelphia style was new to me with heavy cream and real egg in chocolate as well. The Philadelphia was a great surprise and a new favorite. The folk whom work the store are fantastic and reflect the pride and service of this great old establishment. This Fountian is the sister store to Shane's Confectionary two doors down which should not be missed and share a ten percent discount.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogersober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Fountain also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Franklin Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing