We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making Ben Proud”
Review of Franklin Square

Franklin Square
Ranked #65 of 443 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Franklin Square is one of Philadelphia’s five original squares. The centerpiece is a fountain built in 1838 and fully restored in 2006. There's a carousel, mini golf and playground to entertain the young and the young at heart.
Baltimore County, MD
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Making Ben Proud”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Franklin Square Park was a welcome respite after several museum tours on a hot day. The park is clean and inviting for everyone although it is especially attractive for families. This park offers miniature golf (fee), a carousel (fee) and two playgrounds - one for smaller children and one for older kids. The space has a lot of shady areas and tables, a family bathroom option and a food stand with tasty options at a reasonable price. We had a delicious vegetarian burger, organic lemonade (tangy and not too sweet) and a vanilla custard (very good).

Keep this park on your radar as a great place to relax between other venues.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BerkeleyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    74
    25
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good break for kids, but not a necessary destination”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Near the Constitution Center and Liberty Bell, the Park has a carousel, mini golf, playground and burger stand. It gives younger kids a break from our reward for sightseeing.

Helpful?
Thank Boznick
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great mini golf and playground”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are traveling with kids GO, GO, GO!!! Clean, cute, fun! Loved the course and there's a great old carousel too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank uticamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not quite what I was expecting. ..”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful, green area, it's a lovely place to go and chill and take the kids. I thought it was going to be much larger and that the fountain, carousel and mini golf was part of something much bigger but that is it. I had thought it was a sightseeing place but this is much more of a local haven.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
293 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We loved playing the themed miniature golf course but the best part was SquareBurger. Nothing like eating around an outdoor table with your family. Looking over the beautiful park and fountain made the meal taste even better. Great prices for the burgers and the food was excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank slas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Square also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Franklin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing