We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stop for Kids”
Review of Franklin Square

Franklin Square
Ranked #65 of 443 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Franklin Square is one of Philadelphia’s five original squares. The centerpiece is a fountain built in 1838 and fully restored in 2006. There's a carousel, mini golf and playground to entertain the young and the young at heart.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
252 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Nice Stop for Kids”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stopped by one evening with our toddler. He enjoyed the playground (free).

We didn’t use the carousel (already did that at Please Touch), but it looked clean and well taken care of. The mini golf looked awesome (great cityscape items dot the course) but we didn't play with the toddler.

There is food available, but it did not look very good (burgers, hotdogs). The park itself was clean and safe.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank adamsaintlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    74
    25
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Looked pretty on the outisde, but dirty”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The area was so pretty with the fountain and benches. But then we went on the playground, and it was dirty. For example, the steering wheel on the playground had accumulated dirt and grime and it seemed that no one ever cleaned it.

We will not be returning there.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank starlight1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cute Area for Kids”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We traveled to Philadelphia with our young children (ages 2 & 4). This was on our list of things to see...and I'm glad we did! Very neat area! There was a carousel...and instead of horses, they had things like bald eagles! My kids enjoyed the carousel. They also enjoyed the playground there! There was also a mini-golf course that looked really cute. It is designed to look like various attractions from historic Philadelphia. Franklin Square is definitely worth a visit!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelMamaOf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very cute!”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The carousel was great & no one was there! The burgers & fries were fantastic! The playground area was very updated & fun! And there was a storytelling bench we caught on the way out. They give a free paper flag & the kids get a star to add to the flag each time they stop a a story-telling bench (there are 13 apparently). She told a short story (our kids are very young) about William Penn. Cute!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jessydarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
111 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Such a Cute Enjoyable Corner”
Reviewed September 14, 2010

My son and I stopped at Franklin Square on the walk back to our hotel. It is such a cute little area we hadn't planned to stop at. In addition to your usual play area, which had more than enough to entertain a toddler, there was a carosel my son had to ride! You do have to pay, but it's very reasonable. There was also a miniture golf that we did not do. Lastly, there is a little restaurant there where we got hot dogs and a shake to share in the shade. Very enjoyable area!

Helpful?
Thank skbomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Square also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Franklin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing