We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burbridge Street B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burbridge Street B&B
Ranked #10 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“As expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for on evening only as we were in Philadelphia to attend a wedding then move on to Virginia. Marney, the owner was not in when we arrived but had left the keys for us. Our room was on the third floor. The room was clean and the bed comfortable and we slept very well.

It is located in an older part of town and we had no problem getting where we wanted to as we used a GPS. The area was very quiet and although the curbside could receive some maintenance attention we have no complaint about the area.

Room Tip: Anyone of the rooms on offer would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
21
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is exactly how a B&B should be: The owner is very friendly and gives your breakfast a personal touch. We sat around a nice round table and talked to her as well as to other guests. The rooms are very nice as well, as are the well-behaved cats. The only minor downside – depending on what you're looking for – may be the location, which is about 40min from downtown with public transport. However, German town is quite interesting in itself and the owner knows a lot about its history; which is to say you may get to know a part of Philly you wouldn't otherwise have known much about. To go downtown, you can take the train which will cost you 4 or 5$ one way or the bus, which may take up to an hour depending on traffic, for 2$. I will stay there again the next time I am in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lommelun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarneyHague2013, Owner at Burbridge Street B&B, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
The guest is very kind in his review, but I think I should point out that Germantown, my local residential neighborhood, is actually just 7 miles out from Center City by parkland drives, a pleasant 12 to 15 minute drive to the heart of the downtown area. From my local train station, Tulpehocken Station of the Chestnut Hill West line, it is only 20, 25, or 30 minutes by train to the 3 Center City stations. I always encourage my guests who come with cars to leave them here in the neighborhood (free on street parking on my block), and take the train instead... it's better for your pocketbook, your sanity, and a greener option as well. The local bus option (the #23 for Chestnut Hill) follows a much slower route, following a busy commercial corridor with traffic lights and stops at every corner for about 8 miles. I don't recommend it to my guests, as it often takes an hour or more to Center City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledgewood, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This old world B&B was filled with great antiques, lots of old world paintings and two sweet, friendly kitties! I was happy to meet Marnie and she was amazingly helpful, as I had a health issue and she was extremely accommodating as well as friendly. The home is located in a real old Philadelphia neighborhood with a real cobblestone street, great architecture and convenient to all the attractions Philly has to offer. Outside work is still in progress on the grounds, I can only imagine how lovely the back garden will look when it's done.
The fresh fruit from the farm market was delicious and the home ba

Room Tip: The room on the 2nd floor with the fireplace would be my personal favorite on my next visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeshua3572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and could not have been happier. Marney was so helpful and thoughtful , she gave us loads of advice,help on getting around the area and the history. The room was gorgeous, we stayed in the octagon room, very unusual and cute, best nights sleep so far in USA. Breakfast was a real treat, tones of choice and delicious. Got to meet lots of other guests as its around one big table. This was great fun and very interesting. Marney was very accommodating as we arrived early and left early in the morn, she made sure all our needs were met. We could not have enjoyed ourselves more and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegtravelAandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Located near historic sites, the B&B is a good point of departure to visite Germantown which includes a lovely street full of boutiques ranging from restaurants, art galleries to kitchenware. The owner of the B&B, Marney (host), is a good reference when it comes to get ideas about what to visit.

The house by itself has been modernized and renovated which enhances the experience. The only thing missing for me was blinds in the bedrooms windows. On vacation, waking up early, isn't always what we wish for. The other thing to be aware of is that unlike many B&B's there is no sign with the name of the B&B on the property. The only way to locate it's by the adress.

The breakfast was diversified and nourishing. Marney, whenever possible tries to accomodate her guests. The fact that she speaks three languages is a sure plus for any visitors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montreal_QC_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Burbridge B and B and LOVED it! Its a beautiful vintage house about 20mins drive from center city, that's been renovated to modern standards, with big rooms and lots of interesting decor.

Rate includes bed, a great breakfast with fresh fruit and homemade breads (peach loaf highly recommended!) and tea/coffee to your hearts content. There's also free wifi throughout the house and hot beverage supplies in every room (replenished daily). Oh, and free street parking throughout the day.

To top it all off, the innkeeper Marney is an absolute delight. Full of interesting facts about Philly and recommendations for what to eat/see/do. She puts lots of effort into making guests happy...daily breakfast preparation, daily room tidying etc. Great company...its almost like staying with a relative (who you like!). Marney is pretty laid back...no curfue etc and guests have their own keys. Breakfast is at 8 and she'll join you if you're there by by then. If you want to wake up later, she'll leave the food out for you!

Other company in the house includes 2 super friendly cats (i don't really even like cats but was snuggling with these!) and guests in up to 3 additional bedrooms across 2 floors. There's a shared bathroom on every floor, which are kept incredibly clean. The sharing wasnt an issue for us as there was no one else but Marney on our floor, but I don't think itd be too bad even with the other room occupied.

All in all this was the right choice for us. A great little place in a close-to-downtown location at an unbeatable price. Thanks Marney!


  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Batul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rancho mirage, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We slept well all three nights. This homey restored three-story retains it's historic charms without compromise of covenience and comfort. Marnie knows and loves Philadelphia and was eager to help us have a great time visiting historic sites and navigating this great city, new to both of us. The breakfast was healthy and varied, better than what we have at home.
Our trip was half business and half tourism. We were in the front and had no bothersome traffic or neighbor noise. The house is well-secured. We will be happy to go back. It is a great value. A heater in the room would have been nice for us California desert dwellers.

Room Tip: front room, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Chestnut Hill
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Chestnut Hill Hotel
#14 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
City Center West
La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burbridge Street B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burbridge Street B&B

Property: Burbridge Street B&B
Address: 6324 Burbridge St, Philadelphia, PA 19144, Philadelphia, PA 19144-2506
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Germantown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Burbridge Street B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Burbridge Street B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing