We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome beer and mussels”
Review of Monk's Cafe

Monk's Cafe
Ranked #9 of 251 Nightlife in Philadelphia
Attraction details
1 review
“Awesome beer and mussels”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Great ambiance. I went with my boyfriend and he was impressed since its his 1st time to a Belgian restaurant. Mussels are cooked perfectly. Definitely going to come back again.

Helpful?
Thank mlanaria
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very busy little bar”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We visited Monks on a very busy, Christmas time, Saturday night. After initially trying to enter the establishment, we went outside to ask how to enter. We were told by a few people that were outside smoking that you had to pull really hard on the door to enter. We entered into a VERY busy establishment that was rather skinny (as most of the "single" downtown establishments are) in design, and was hard to navigate to the bar due to the overcrowded situation. What was most suprising to me was that there was 1 bartender working trying to satisfy not only the many people at the bar but having to fill orders from the wait staff for their diners. It was damn near impossible to get a drink at the bar due to that. I was very impressed with beer selection, but it was sorta like looking at a menu in a magazine....what good is it if you are unable to hold it in your hands and order it ? I would definately return at a time when it wasn't so crowded and give it another try.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TomMcMenamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
“Mussels, and Brews”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Offers a very tasty steaming pail of mussels for a reasonable price. The service was prompt, friendly, and the establishment was very clean. The beer list seemed sufficient, and the atmosphere was casual. I would recommend this restaurant to friends, and family for dinner.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank anserth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inviting little bar and brewhouse”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We only had drinks here, in the back at the bar, but we visited about two hours and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The beer selection is among the best anywhere. (This coming from two "beersnobs"!) The bartender was very knowledgeable with his inventory and offered suggestions for different types of beer and ale. Next time we will come early to eat as well. Awesome.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank outtoeat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a long wait”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were determined to check out this famous restaurant. It does not take reservation. We arrived around 7pm with a full restaurant. The waiter said the wait was 30 minutes. Everybody else gave up and left, not willing to wait. So we were the only party that was waiting there. We stood there for over 45 minutes and the waiter kept saying our table was paid, but the guests did not want to leave yet. We heard this starting from the 15th minutes and finally gave up after 45 minutes.

The strange thing was people after us could still get in and be seated. After a long wait, I realized that one could request bar seats, which we were never offered, and the bar seats were easier to get.

A very tiring meal standing for 45 minutes without eating anything.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SmallPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Monk's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing