We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food And Drink”
Review of Fado Irish Pub

Fado Irish Pub
Ranked #15 of 251 Nightlife in Philadelphia
Attraction details
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Food And Drink”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you want premier league football while in Philly this is the place to be.Really good coverage in a very nice place.Theres very good food and drink on offer,all served by very friendly staff.
My wife and i were in Fado about three times while we were in Philly for a break.We allays seemed to have the same waitress,i think she was called Paula,a very beautiful friendly Irish girl,the food and size of portions was always very good.I think they have live music some nights but we didn't get to try that out.The place was always busy with people coming and going.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank garyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“awful. just awful.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Dishonest, inattentive staff. The bartenders do not pay attention to what they are making. They will substitute drinks without permission and then pretend that it is exactly what you ordered, as if you are delusional. The food is a joke. The prices are far out of line with other Irish bars. Moreover, its often dirty inside. Mostly out-of-towners who don't know any better can be found here. The entire place is extremely unethical and shady. I recommend that you stay away.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamfromPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh. Scotland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had visited the one in Washington so knew we'd be fine here!

It was a Friday nite and very very busy - I think we just managed to get the last table

Service was good but unfort the girl did get my order wrong - beef instead of chicken - but it was changed quickly

We had a good couple of beers and irish coffees too

Good friendly service and atmosphere

The area we were sitting in was reversed for a large party - the waitress mentioned it to us but we were told we could sit there until almost the last minute. They didn't hurry us and the girl offered to find us another table - but by then we happy to stand

Would visit again

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cate019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Liked it so much we ate there twice”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at a hotel a few blocks away and as I like a pub, we went for lunch. The waitress was very nice. My daughter loved the burger. I had the fish and chips. We sat toward the back away for the soccer (football!) game on TV. We went a second time for dinner. It seemed homey and relaxed. The Guinness icecream was interesting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank xtine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great bar in a great location”
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We have gone to Fado on two separate trips to Philadelphia and greatly enjoyed ourself both times. The first time was to watch a football game, the second for New Years Eve. Both times we had a great time, the other patrons were all in their 20's but not a typical college crowd. Service at the bar can be a little slow. NYE was a great deal at only a $15 cover which included a champagne toast (most other places in Philly were a lot more). We have not tried the food, and the drinks were a little price-y, but over all it's a great bar in a great location.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank gatorfans1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fado Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Fado Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing