We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theater is still alive and well”

Arden Theatre Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Double-Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour of Philadelphia
More Info
$32.00*
and up
City Sightseeing Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Glenside, pa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Theater is still alive and well”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Arden makes sure that the art if live theater is thriving here in Philly. My mother, who is 91 , has been attending for many years, first with my father. And now with me. The productions are awesome, the range of plays is great, and the acting is superb.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aktglenside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    34
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best theater in Philly without exception”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just saw Endgame by Samuel Beckett as part of what is now our 8th season subscription. Beyond the crisp, though provoking staging and superior performances, Arden hosted a post-curtain discussion of this controversial and controversial play. My wife and I were rivetted, sharing unique perspectives and broadening the audience experience. This is typical of the Arden, giving more to the playgoer even after the foot lights dim. Looking forward to Raisin in the Sun and A Little Night Music to complete the season and have already resubscribed. I can't recommend this venue and the productions enough. BTW they do offer assistive hearing devices.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neurodoc422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Head's above”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Consistently great productions at this theater; high calibre of actors, nice staff, comfortable seating, affordable. Have been a subscriber for years and luv this place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PattyVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to enjoy Freud' last session”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Arcadia Theater Company is located in the Philadelphia's historic Old City neighborhood. It exists since 1988. The building has been renovated to contain a 360-seat main stage theater (F. Otto Haas Stage) and the 175-seat studio theater (Arcadia Stage).
I've been to Arden a few times over the years. Last time in December to see the admirable Freud's Last session. It was a brilliant 75-minute one act play with two characters, the father of psychoanalysis Sigmund Freud and the novelist C.S. Lewis, best known for the Chronicles of Narnia. The two men debated passionately over religion. The piece takes place on the day England entered WWII, in London where Freud emigrated from Vienna. Interestingly, the stage was decorated with many items from the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, truly depicting Freud's apartment. I enjoyed the play and the set very much and would love to come back to Arden soon.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank star555girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local Theater”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great variety of plays. Many that make you think. Talented performers.
Lucky to have in Philadelphia.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arden Theatre Company also viewed

 

Been to Arden Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing