We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprise in Chinatown”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar-Ly Chinatown

Bar-Ly Chinatown
Ranked #605 of 4,342 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Chinese, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A surprise in Chinatown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came upon Bar - Ly while waiting for a show at the Trocadero, just around the corner. Excellent beer selection for a sports bar and a very nice menu of eclectic Asian fare. I had a Koean Bolgogi sandwhich with kimchi that was awesome! Very attentive and friendly bar service considering how packed it was. Worth checking out.

Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bar-Ly Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Bar-Ly has 60+ beers on tap. From Belgian Abbey Ales, to Coors light! Great fun cocktails. Lots of TV's to watch sports and other shows. Very friendly staff. Good food, great variety of Asian and standard bar fare. Their seared Tuna is fantastic. They have a daily happy hour 3-6 pm and Sun-Thur there's a 2nd happy hour starting at 10pm.
Located right a crossed from the Convention Center at 11th & Arch streets

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillyGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Amazing selection of tap beers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Bingo! Found a great place right in town that has, correct me if I am wrong, over 50 beers/cider on tap! The staff member we had serve us at the bar was knowledgeable, friendly AND enthusiastic. He helped us with choices of beers even giving us samples. We ordered some snacks too over happy hour, and found them all great! A very cool place for those that appreciate a good pint and snack!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliceB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
142 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good spot for drinks and apps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a great little spot with a wide selection of beers on tap. Appetizers range from a standard hot dog up to duck dumplings (which are quite good).
The place has more of a sports bar type vibe so if you're looking for hole in the wall type places this isn't it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ronin308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Finally! A great bar in Chinatown.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

60+ beers on tap. I'm a fan of Belgian Abbey Ales, which they have, but their draft list is varied and extensive. They also make some fun cocktails. Lots of screens to watch sports. Very friendly staff. Good food, great variety of Asian food and standard bar fare. I like the Sriracha wings and Udon Noodle soup. The ribs are a great deal. Sun-Thur there's a 2nd happy hour starting at 10pm. When you get there, tell them Lou from upstairs sent you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seitchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar-Ly Chinatown also viewed

 

Been to Bar-Ly Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing