We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top comics, great atmosphere and easy parking”
Review of Helium Comedy Club

Helium Comedy Club
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Top comics, great atmosphere and easy parking”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Been several times and Ive heard several comics on their podcasts mention Helium in Philly to be a fav place to perform. Overall, highly recommend with little to complain of. The parking garage is literally next door - drop off keys at parking entrance and can be inside club within 2 minutes. The staff has always been friendly and courteous. The inside waiting area is tough - very small and always elbow to elbow packed before doors open to seating as a group area, thinkj would be better if was set up like a line but they serve drinks beforehand so its set up like a bar which causes packed crowding in front of door to enter stage area. STILL this is temporary while the room inside is much better yet still small enough to provide a cozy atmosphere. Lucky to have top comics perform here regularly. Not a drinker and while nice that they brew their iced tea, it has a offtaste 'bite' that usually accompanies fresh brewed ice tea. Their individual pizzas are surprisingly good and filling while didn't like the roast beef Panini although they've other paninis that may be better. The staff and performers clearly try to make sure audience enjoys themselves and always has been a fun crowd when Ive gone. Several late night places to eat afterwards nearby outside too

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    30
    7
    7
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leanordtown, MD
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“good comedy”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went here with my wife. Nice size club. Good layout. Seating was not too crammed together like some comedy clubs. MC was OK. First act was from Phili. He was great. Headliner was just OK, but that is a matter of taste. We were able to park for free (after 10:00 pm) on street, one block away on a Friday night. $20 entry fee was OK. Two drink (and/or food) minimum. I hate that, but it is standard. You can get a beer for $6. Typical. Service was better than most comedy clubs I have been to.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pokerroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
213 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I haven't been to a comedy club since the late 80s so I really wasn't sure what to expect. I think the main thing that makes a trip to one amazing is the talent, the rest is just infrastructure. The staff are friendly, the wait staff really work hard to keep the drinks flowing during the show. The seating is tight, though not cramped. We had a private party before hand with foods like sandwich paninis, pizza, dip, chips and salsa - it's of a quality that really sets the tone for the evening (laughable) - so eat first, but drink up and have a good time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A fun place to go at night!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I went on a Tuesday night. It was open mic night so anyone could get up on stage if they wanted to. You can just go as a spectator too. It is only $5 to get in for almost 2 hours of comedy.The people who got up on stage were pretty funny! I thought some of them were better than some of the professional comedians I have seen. It is definitely worth a try!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank holllywood38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for Money”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have been to Helium many times and have seen a wide range of comedians. Last night we saw Bert Kreischer and he is probably one of the funniest guys we have ever seen.
Not all shows at Helium are this good, but they consistently get well-know headliners and offer fantastic value for money with most tickets between $20-$30 per person. There is a two "item" minimum per person, so you should figure in the cost of a couple of drinks or a bite to eat. Even so, you would be hard pressed to get this kind of quality entertainment anywhere else at the price.
We highly recommend Helium to anyone who is not easily offended (not many PC comedians out there) and who is looking for a good belly laugh.
We will be back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helium Comedy Club also viewed

 

Been to Helium Comedy Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing