We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Dishes - Go Early on Weekends!”
Review of Tria Cafe

Tria Cafe
Ranked #78 of 4,351 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City Center West
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty Dishes - Go Early on Weekends!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My first encounter with Tria was during a weekday Happy Hour. The low-key setting was perfect for conversing with my buddies and I couldn't wait to head back again. Fast forward to Saturday night around 10 p.m. and the bar was buzzing with hipsters discussing their latest personal / professional accomplishments. Tria has delicious food - I personally indulge in goat cheese plates and bruschetta during every visit. An extensive wine and beer list tops off an overall pleasurable experience. Just try not to visit too late during the weekend. I waited almost one hour for a seat and they ran out of some menu items.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    119
    19
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
228 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Healthy and Reasonable, if that is your thing”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My fiance and I stopped here for dinner before a show because we didn't have much time. The staff was very accomodating and gracious. He ordered the Truffled Egg Toast with Fontina appetizer (because someone on the internet had called it "incredible"). When it came out, we were a little scared that it was just a raw egg in bread, but when we tasted it, the egg was partially cooked and the dish was unexpectedly delish. We both got paninis. They were average paninis at a decent price. It certainly is more of a lunch place with a sandwich/salad heavy menu, but they are only open for dinner. That was odd in my opinion. Good overall, though.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Corissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
173 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Cheese and Salad and Yummy Small Plates!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were in the city for the night and I pulled out my trusty Yelp app to see what the options were. We saw Tria and the number of really good reviews and decided to give it a try. We stopped in around 5:30pm on a Saturday night. It was perfect timing as the last 2-person table was sitting empty right in front of us.

Service was friendly and fast. We had a glass of wine and a beer and the rosemary chips with the aioli. The figs with gorgonzola and prosciutto were ah-maz-ing! Fabulous! We had one of the salads and sandwiches and the food was really flavorful. Great spot to go out for friends or couples. The noise level gets a little high, so if you're going to have a long, meaningful conversation with someone whose hearing isn't the sharpest, you might be in trouble.

Great, great place. Can't wait to come back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeepGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Foodies, Beer Geeks, Wine Nuts, Take Notice”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

For anyone that enjoys good food, good beer, and good wine, this is a nice place to go in the downtown Philadelphia area. The atmosphere is laidback, the service is friendly, it's hard to ask for more than this place has to offer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slasich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

When you've been running errands all afternoon this is the best place to stop for a little snack and glass of wine. The wine list is excellent and gives funny yet accurate descriptions of each wine. You don't need to be an expert to select the perfect wine. The staff is very knowledgeable and will help you pair wines and foods in such a delightful way.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank liiffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tria Cafe also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Tria Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing