We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Philadelphia Trolley Works
from $32.00
More Info
from $120.00
More Info
from $32.00
More Info
from $30.00
More Info
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
95
34
7
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
34
7
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the double decker bus tour guide day pass the big bus tour historic city minute tour stops sites mike
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 148 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This really would be nothing more than a 90 minute ride on a Trolley-style diesel minibus without the steady hand of Bernard at the wheel and the entertaining informative wise-cracks of Brian on the mic. If you are looking for a "hop-on-hop-off" service, you will need to look elsewhere. Still, if you are looking for an comfy drive-thru of Old City and the Franklin Parkway, with a stop a the jow-dropping Philly Museum of Art/Fairmout Waterworks (a.k.a the place with the Rocky Steps), this is your bus company and these should be the only guys you ride with. The above was a synopsis of my family reunion's venture with the TrolleyWorks Saturday June 29. Please note that I did not book the trip and I cannot speak to if there are other types of services they provide. I just know Bernard and Brian and I know if I used Philly Trolley Works again, I wouldn't want to ride with anyone else!

1  Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Manager at Philadelphia Trolley Works, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Hello Jillian W,

I am pleased Philadelphia Trolley Works & Big Bus was able to accommodate your special occasion and enhance your visit to the city. I am happy you enjoyed the tour and would do it again! Thank you for acknowledging your driver, Bernard, and guide, Brian. They strive to provide the best tour experience possible, and appreciate the recognition for a job well done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We used Philadelphia Trolley Works as a special treat for our students going to their 8th grade dance. The process to book the trolley and fill out the paperwork was easy and user friendly. The staff was very nice and easy to work with. The driver was actually early and came prepared to play the kids music on the Ipod adaptor. The process from start to finish could not have gone smoother, I would use them again with no question.

1  Thank couellette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Manager at Philadelphia Trolley Works, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Hello couellette,

Thank you for choosing Philadelphia Trolley Works for your special event. Our staff strive to provide the best experience possible from start to finish, so I am glad they accomplished that for you and your group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My niece was in town for a visit and we took this tour and it was fantastic. The employees were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We got off at several of the stops and the bus was always back at the appointed time to pick us up. I learned a lot of things about Philadelphia that I didn't know. I will definitely take future visitors on this tour, and am planning to take my husband and children as well.

Thank ELievens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Manager at Philadelphia Trolley Works, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Hello ELievens,

Thank you for choosing Philadelphia Trolley Works & Big Bus, and for your positive review. I am pleased you enjoyed your tour experience, and that you will do it again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I could not find many reviews of this tour and those I found were negative, so I was apprehensive. Our tour was almost flawless, however. The company called the day before with our pickup time. They arrived promptly at our hotel and our driver took us to the train station. He escorted us inside and made sure we understood everything before he left. After a pleasant train ride, a cab picked us up in Lancaster, again very promptly. We arrived at the Amish Experience (reviewed separately), completed our tour, and then did everything again in reverse. The only suggestion I have is that we returned to the Lancaster station at 4:15 and our train did not leave until 5:35. We would have preferred to hang out at the Amish Experience longer, instead of sitting on the uncomfortable benches at the station with nothing to do. Overall, however, this was efficiently done and the staff was very nice.

Thank ILoveTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Manager at Philadelphia Trolley Works, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Hello ILoveTexas
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your tour experience and found Philadelphia Trolley Works' service to be friendly and efficient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We took the tour with Kaitlyn and Carl [driver]. They picked us up at our hotel and gave great info on the restaurants and attractions that we had planned to visit. They made the tour interesting, fun and informative. Thanks guys for such a great time!

Thank ageneralpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Manager at Philadelphia Trolley Works, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Hello ageneralpain,

Thank you for choosing Philadelphia Trolley Works & Big Bus, and for your positive review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your tour experience and found it interesting, fun, and informative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews