We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to get to know the history of Philly this is a must!”

Philadelphia Trolley Works
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour of Philadelphia
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We took this tour with our 11 year old son and 15 year old daughter. Spent the weekend in Philly and wanted them to know some of the history of the city. This tour was great. Our host was Bill which was so much fun and really made the fun exciting for all of us. We stayed on the bus since it was cold. Tour was 1 1/2 if you don't get off the bus......so worth it. It's a must in Philly!

Date of experience: December 2012
Thank MSSCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Manager at Philadelphia Trolley Works, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2017

Hello MSSCt,

Thank you for choosing Philadelphia Trolley Works & Big Bus Company. I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your tour experience. Thank you for acknowledging your tour guide, Bill. He is one of the best, an expert at what he does! He appreciates the recognition for a job well done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the double decker bus"
in 6 reviews
"tour guide"
in 13 reviews
"bus driver"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 2 reviews
"day pass"
in 5 reviews
"the big bus tour"
in 3 reviews
"historic city"
in 3 reviews
"these guys"
in 2 reviews
"minute tour"
in 2 reviews
"stops"
in 24 reviews
"sites"
in 20 reviews
"van"
in 3 reviews
"highlights"
in 4 reviews
"concert"
in 4 reviews
"mike"
in 3 reviews
Filter

140 - 144 of 178 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We chose Trolley Works due to the old trolley they have, which was a nice experience early in the morning. However as the day progressed and we were hopping on and off and the rain started, we realized some operational problems. First of all, the buses do not seem to pass every 45min (which btw is not frequent enough for a city like Philly). But even when we tried to catch the next bus, we ended up waiting in the rain for quite a while (more than 45'). Finally when the trolley appeared, it was so full that we ended up standing. At that point, we decided to just ride the rest of the tour all the way back.
As for the guides, they were all quite knowledgable and very friendly. They tried to help with directions and tips saving up time.
Overall it was quite nice, but be aware of the peak time!

Date of experience: December 2012
Thank MyIsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Manager at Philadelphia Trolley Works, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2017

Hello alio79,

Thank you for choosing Philadelphia Trolley Works & Big Bus Tours. It is unfortunate, despite the best of plans, things can go wrong. We fully understand the importance of performance and timing & will continue to work hard at exceeding expectations & making everyone's experience with Philadelphia Trolley Works & Big Bus the best it can be. Come back and try us again the next time you visit the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The tour guide suggested that we stay on the 1 hour bus tour BEFORE we choose what places to see. This was the best information that we could have ever received. From that we saw where everything was. It was a jump and go tour. We could get off anywhere. We stayed on the whold tour and then planned where we were going to go.

Date of experience: August 2012
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Manager at Philadelphia Trolley Works, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2017

Hello Meredith B.

Thank you for choosing Philadelphia Trolley Works & Big Bus Company. I am pleased your enjoyed your tour experience, and that you found your guide provided all the right information to enhance your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Went on a hop on hop off trolley tour of Philadelphia and enjoyed the highlights of the tour. It gave us a combination of historic and artistic perspectives of the city, as well as allowed us time to eat at good local restaurants. Our guide was quite knowledgeable and she injected a lot of humor in her narration. I just wished we had more time to get off and explore more of Philly.

Date of experience: November 2012
Thank cespdelrosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Manager at Philadelphia Trolley Works, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2017

Hello cespdelrosario,

Thank you for choosing Philadelphia Trolley Works. I am pleased you enjoyed your tour experience. Thank you for acknowledging your tour guide. She appreciates the recognition for a job well done. When you come back to Philadelphia, please ride our tour again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a fabulous tour, as there is so much to see in Philadelphia we purchased the jump on jump off tickets and were glad that we did. For the family I think the cost was around the $70 mark, however that is as many buses as you like, on and off as many times as you like. The first time we got on at Number 1 position and went all the way around - I think there are around 12 stops, so that we could see all of the places and decide which ones we would stop at next time around, I fully recommend this as you have no idea how many things you didn't even know about and want to stop and see after all. We stopped at the Touch Me Museum - so fabulous and of course the Rocky steps of which we had to do the Rocky running up the stairs - with hoards of other people, Liberty Bell, and two other stops of which I cannot remember the names, this was our day over, and I wish I had more time in Philly, lovely place with so much history. You learn so much along the way even if you don't stop at that particular stop, the guides were all wonderful and very cheery.

Date of experience: September 2012
Thank LissyL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela M, Manager at Philadelphia Trolley Works, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2017

Hello LissyLOu,

Thank you for choosing Philadelphia Trolley Works, and for your positive review. I am pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your tour experience and that it enhanced your visit to the city. Thank you for acknowledging our guides. They strive to provide an interesting and engaging tour, and I am pleased they accomplished that for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philadelphia Trolley Works also viewed

 

Been to Philadelphia Trolley Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing