We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Unique Location, Outstanding Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Unique Location, Outstanding Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We travel to Philadelphia a few times a year mostly to dine out. We typically stay in Center City, but tried this new location in the Navy Yards in part because of the free parking, good rates and location to stadiums (we had tickets for a Phillies game this trip).

We'll definitely consider staying here again on future trips, even when we don't have tickets for a game. This is a unique mix of a quiet, water-facing mixed-use retreat ripe for walking and exploring and an urban location.

The staff went above and beyond and the hotel decor is very fresh and welcoming. It has standard Courtyard features and palate, with local touches, such as Navy books on the lobby mantel. I'd love to some back and check it out during the week and spend more time walking around.

Tips/ Notes:
- During the week you can get food in the Urban Outfitters building and a few other spots (we weren't there during the week, but the spots seem to get good reviews. A list is available here: http://www.navyyard.org/great-amenities/restaurants-retail)

- During the weekend you get access to the Navy Yards (fun to walk around) when it is closed to the public. A walking tour map and visitors guide is available at the following link: http://www.navyyard.org/sites/pny/uploads/files/The_Navy_Yard_Walking_Tour_and_Visitors_Guide_2012.pdf

- This is a great spot if you or your kids like planes, ships or areas under construction. Planes are low enough for you to see the airline name when sitting on the hotel patio, but thanks to the windows/soundproofing we couldn't hear them. The ships are in walking distance and the area is great for walking around and exploring with a mix if historic buildings, abandoned factories, lots, and new construction.

- We felt safe and comfortable walking to a Phillies day game from the hotel. We hopped on the subway afterward to get dinner in Center City. The subway is right near the stadiums, so if you are comfortable with a bit of a walk, you can keep your car parked at the hotel and take public transit even if you're not going to the game. Walking at night would be a matter of your personal preference and sense of safety. There aren't people around and spots can be a bit dark.

- If you plan to take a taxi back to the hotel, be sure you have a sense of where the Navy Yards are, as in our experience, not all drivers know where it is (despite GPS).

Room Tip: - There is construction next door. It was quiet on the weekend, but you may want to check on the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tilrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thanks for the review! All your feedback about the area is perfect! We do continue to work with the taxi companies to familiarize them all with our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    77
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
72
91
11
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I initially booked this hotel using Marriott Reward Certificates. Due to its location at the Navy Yard, I wasn’t sure if it would be ideal for our weekend getaway. We planned to do a lot of things in center city and didn’t know if this location was too far. Well, I must say that I was pleasantly surprised on all fronts. First, we felt extremely secure given the hotel’s location at the Navy Yard. Also, parking is complimentary (which is very rare in Philadelphia). The hotel is new and the staff is EXTREMELY helpful. The front desk attendants, Maria and Stacy, provided excellent customer service. We planned to visit the 4th of July Philly Jam on Benjamin Franklin Parkway (center city) but weren’t sure of the best way to get there. Maria and Stacy helped us navigate the route to minimize travel time, etc. (FYI: The hotel has a shuttle to center city that runs Monday – Friday but it does not operate on major holidays.)

Another great aspect about the hotel is that it is brand new. All of the features are very modern. The hotel is right around the corner from the major sports stadiums and is just a 10-15 minute drive to center city and Society Hill (a chic area w/ boutique shopping and local eateries). Although there aren’t any restaurants in walking distance, we found a great area about five minutes away called Snyder Plaza. It has a variety of new stores and restaurants including Target, Boston Market, IKEA, Chick-fil-A, Famous Daves, IHOP, etc. I highly suggest visiting the plaza if you want to grab a bite to eat before heading back to the hotel. If you decide not to venture out, there’s a casual onsite restaurant called The Bistro in the hotel lobby.

Overall, our stay was great. I will likely stay here every time I visit Philadelphia on a leisure trip.

Room Tip: Use the Navy Yard address to find the hotel (it doesn't always show up on the GPS).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smoochaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thanks so much for your positive comments about our staff and hotel. Hope to see you here again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott this past weekend for the 4th of July festivities in Philadelphia. I can not express enough how wonderful our stay was! Upon entering the Navy Yard there are some things that you may need to know. If you are arriving after 7:30pm the road your GPS will take you will have a gate and it will be closed, just turn around and go to the main gate. The hotel is located on the Navy Yard so you will need to have the gate opened by security when you arrive. They get this a lot and will just usually confirm you're going to the marriott. When we pulled in you get to pass all the Navy ships. It's a really nice sight! The area seems very "up and coming" with lots of new, modern buildings in the area. Parking is free which is a rare find in Philly. The hotel is brand new and located right across the way from all the major sporting arenas (Phillies, Eagles and Flyers. If you're going for sports this is a great hotel to stay at! Maybe a 6 minute walk to them) We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful woman at the desk. She informed us of all the events happening the next day and advised us of ways to get into the city. Upon entering our room it was a nice surprise! Very spacious and modern and most importantly extremely clean. The bathroom was great! Large sink area with a roomy walk in glass shower. I was impressed with the free shampoo and conditioners as well, the were Paul Mitchell. You don't see name brand freebies at hotels often. We checked out the bistro. We had a wonderful young man help us. I believe his name was Terrel and he will be the main reason we stay again. He was extremely friendly and very charming. He made us feel at home. He knew the menu very well and had great suggestions! The bistro was nicely appointed and also had a small Starbucks with a select menu as well. The food was just "OK" but I would eat there again. There was a nice gym in the back as well as a small business area with computers for your use. Overall it was a wonderful time and I can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: 5th floor was great and extremely quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbi32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind remarks about our "New" hotel. The staff truly are wonderful and make this beautiful building come alive to be an exemplary hotel. Having the background of the beautiful Naval Ships truly make this a unique location. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

this hotel is very well situated, close to the Arena, Eagle stadium and Phillies stadium, short walk from the hotel (15 min.) and it's safe, no issue at all.

It's close to the subway station which was also convenient.

It's true that the restaurant is limited, however, close to the Sports Centers, a couple of good options, it was perfect for us.

There is no pool. The staff was very nice and helpful, we felt welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natgranby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a business meeting and to visit the city. The staff was very helpful, (Nia, Gabriela, Casandra, Chris, and the Kitchen staff. The room was very clean and the housekeeping dept. did a great job in my room.

The location it is perfect, You can see the three stadiums from your room window also it is just a few minutes from the airport and the Downtown.

This hotel it is the right place to stay Philly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you so much for all the positive comments about our staff and hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Checked in around last week of May. Very modern hotel & fresh lloks.

Limited variety of breakfast but very good service.

Spacious restaurant & Lobby. Feels as if its 5 star hotel.

Definitely above average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PankajIndore_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We appreciate your comments. Our team is committed to excellent customer service and strives to deliver that with every customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Courtyard opened at the Navy Yard in South Philadelphia. I was on a business trip and have been working at the Navy Yard. I went over to the hotel and had to beg my way in because they were nearly booked. I have stayed there twice now and have not been disappointed. First the Navy yard is undergoing a redevelopment from its 200 year history as a Navy base. The Navy still occupies a sizable footprint but the rest is a mixture of new flashy construction and the reuse of traditional buildings. There are not a lot of restaurants(3) or shops(none) but the whole place is located nearly walking distance from all of the stadiums (baseball, hockey, basketball and football), and a short drive up broad street to the Italian neighborhood of south Philadelphia. (see my review for Stogie Bobs). Lots of good eating there and continue up to passyunk st and get the real deal Philly cheese steak or a few more miles to downtown.

The hotel is beautiful, sleek, clean, beautiful bathrooms and lot's of hangout/meeting space in the lobby. With any new properties this one is still pretty shiny. The staff was very nice, friendly and accommodating. The food choices are pretty minimal since this is a courtyard so only a "bistro" but they did have some good dinner food if you are on business and don't feel like venturing out into the neighborhood. The breakfast was good and delivered to you wherever you station yourself in the lobby. The bar was lively for happy hour. Parking is free which really reduces the total cost of an overnight since experienced travelers have discovered that parking in Philadelphia is steep ($30-$45) even when you enter a garage after 5pm.

Finally the price. I paid $199 plus 29 in tax which is steeper than I usually pay. I generally do hotwire and try some 3.5 to 4 star place at $100. But when 35 parking bill comes in play the Courtyard becomes more of a value. What I found though that I had trouble finding the hotel on Expedia map (maybe because its relatively new)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. You bring up a very valid point that parking downtown can push over the $50 per night mark, or our free parking is a perk for staying with us. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#62 of 85 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard

Property: Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
Address: 1001 Intrepid Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19112-1227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience modern style and historic charm in this dynamic city hub when you stay at our new, LEED-certified and eco-friendly hotel in Philadelphia's South neighborhood, the Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard. Located just four miles from Center City, our hotel is the first in The Navy Yard's dynamic urban development offering a unique campus environment with a dedication to sustainability. Experience our state-of-the-art lobby and The Bistro – offering all-day dining, an evening bar and The Navy Yard's only Starbucks®. You'll also enjoy our South Philadelphia hotel's inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax. Tap into the free Wi-Fi throughout our Philadelphia South hotel, or get the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your visit to our hotel's South Philadelphia accommodations is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing