We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice And New”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice And New”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night while passing through Philly, and had no complaints. The hotel was essentially brand new, very modern and updated. Even though I checked in At almost 1am, the front desk agent was extremely nice. The only thing was that finding this hotel is like searching for the holy grail. We drove around for 10 minutes before finally asking a security guard, who then informed us that we had to enter through a gated area.. Which was weird but then you know it's safe.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
One thing about being new is getting added to GPS systems and maps. We do sit is a gated community that is more closed off to traffic in the evening hours. We have been working with The Navy Yard to add signage to help you find us along with adding more signs around the hotel. The security team is here to help direct you to the property and we were glad they were able to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    79
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
75
94
11
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here over the Memorial Weekend in May 2014. We checked in with a friend and got 2 rooms on the 2nd Floor. My friend's room was fine but mine was totally gross. The room looked nice initially until we pull out the sofa bed. There were blood stains all over it! Housekeeper and staff immediately move us to a different room on the same floor. Since we have 2 young kids and baggage, it will be harder for us to move to a different floor. 15 minutes later, we moved to another room nearby on the same floor, a few doors down. This room was just as bad. I turned the comforter over to sit on the bed and a rubber-like condom looking latex fell out. I called front desk again and the manager came and assured me it was a piece of a latex glove, not a used condom. Ok, I can accept that. When I get ready to sleep, I turned the other side of the comforter and saw blood stains! OMG, I couldn't believe it. Housekeeper immediately took all the dirty linens and remade the bed. This is a classic example where housekeeper just flip the comforter around for the next guess without inspecting or replacing it. If I didn't have young kids, I would have left for another hotel. It was late and we were tired. The next day I filed an official complaint with the day-shift manager and she gave me a free night stay. So beware to all future guests! The housekeeping is sorely lacking and please inspect all linen.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can assure you that your room experience is not up to our standards. We have already provided the additional training to our housekeeping team for the future. As you stated in your review, we did take care of your room for you to compensate for the inconvenience we caused you. We hope that you stay with us next time you visit Philadelphia!

Katie D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel may be new and shiny but it's so far from downtown that our GPS and Googlemaps did not find it. We had to ask the leaf blower and maintenance people on the yard who say they are used to giving directions to this location. That's fine, but please don't call it the new downtown. That's a bold-faced lie. It's not downtown. It's in the midst of an abandoned Navy Yard and feels a little creepy on the weekends. We were quoted $179 but the taxes are insane so it came out to over $200. There is no pool and the walls are so thin we could hear the neighbors coughing. The window is quite small and there is not enough light in the room, and the TV is nice and large but placed inconveniently. The room is tight and cramped. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WashCaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWeney, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay. In reviewing your comments I noticed that you were under the impression that we were a downtown hotel. We are located in the Philadelphia Navy Yard which is home to 13,000 associates and is 4 miles from downtown Philadelphia and 1 mile from the sports stadiums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

When I needed a place to stay in Philadelphia on relatively short notice, this was the place I found available. While I wasn't quite certain what I'd find 'at the Navy Yard', I found a treasure. This hotel opened earlier in 2014; it's well appointed and LEAD certified. While the location is a bit out of the way (unless you're going to a sporting event), it is close to I-95 from which one can get anywhere in the area.

One of the first things that I found impressive, was the kind, calm demeanor of the front desk staff. After driving from Syracuse, NY (younger son's graduation) to Philadelphia, the friendly welcome was most appreciated. Our room was beautiful and more than comfortable. Our room was made up everyday; I appreciate the environmentally conscious approach taken here: in-room recycling is made easy and towels are allowed to dry for reuse if they are left on the rack.

The Starbuck's was a nice lobby amenity. While the menu is somewhat limited, what is available is quite good. The lobby itself was comfortable for work and socializing.

My only wish would be for a pool. In every other way, this property was wonderful, exceeding my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy you found what we also consider a treasure here at the Philadelphia Courtyard South. Being a LEED certified hotel we do our best to conserve water, energy and materials. We are fortunate to be so close to I-95 to provide a direct route into and out of center city Philadelphia. Our team looks forward to the next time you can visit Philadelphia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The recently opened Marriott Courtyard at The Navy Yard in Philadelphia is the only hotel currently open in the trendy Navy Yard which is home to all four of Philadelphia's professional sports teams and several corporate offices. The Courtyard is LEED-certified and combines eco-friendly amenities with stylish, sleek contemporary decor. It is conveniently located close to the city center and depending on traffic, can be reached in under 10 minutes with easy access to the interstate and is less expensive than downtown hotels.
The rooms are well appointed with coffee maker, refrigerator, desk and free Wi-Fi. Our room had a Queen size bed and sleeper sofa and a large walk-in, tiled shower.
The lobby Bistro offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, bar services and the Navy Yard's only Starbucks. The only drawback is that breakfast is not included with some packages. We did have their breakfast sandwiches which were delicious and healthy as well. There is also a 24 hour sundry/convenience store and a state of the art fitness center. The expansive lobby has several, comfortable lounging areas with free USA Today and local newspapers.
The Marriott Courtyard at The Navy Yard in Philadelphia offers a comfortable and relaxing alternative to staying downtown without the downtown prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front for views of the sports complexes and downtown skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChattChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We appreciate your positive comments! The views from the building are great. You can be looking a the sports venues with the background of center city, the reserve basin with old Naval Ships and historic Naval buildings, and some rooms offer views that are being created in 5 acre park. It is a great place to come down and explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Beautiful place! Generally I don’t like to stay at generic hotels but this one blew me away!

We made a last minute booking and we were looking for a hotel in downtown Philly on a Friday night so it wasn't easy to find one in the core. I was discouraged from booking at this property because the location seemed a bit far away from downtown. I think the hotel aesthetics totally made up for the location and it ended up being a quick 10 minute drive downtown. The staff was helpful, rates were great and the room definitely gave you a bang for your buck. Unfortunately they couldn't accommodate our request for a late checkout but the staff was still really accommodating and had complimentary amenities, i.e. toothpaste, lotion, etc. delivered to our room upon request.

Overall I had a blast in Philly and the hotel was a great added value.

P.S. If you're into photography the hotel is located at The Navy Yard which is great for walks along the water and taking pictures of the ships and surrounding area. If you're a football fan there’s also a great view of the Eagles Stadium from this location as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. The photo ops are great and they are working on a park infront of the hotel that will be spectacular when it is completed next spring. Field Operations is the company that is designing the park. Please feel free to take a look at their work at http://www.fieldoperations.net/
Lots of great additions to come for the Navy Yard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

So we stayed here in March to attend a concert in the city. The staff at the hotel we lovely and the rooms for the price were phenomenal. I had a points package with Marriott so my stay was free. However looking online during our stay we noticed the rooms were $109 a night. Not to shabby

Staff: Check in was breeze, it didn't take long maybe 10 minutes and both young ladies are the desk were amazing.
There was a gentleman on call as the hotel manager a recent New York Transplant to the Philadelphia area who was AMAZING. He recommended places to eat near the theater and where to park downtown. Overall I'd give the staff an A+

Rooms: Our first room wasn't quite clean and we had to be switched to another room. Which wasn't the best as the room we had previously was a lot bigger and had a better view. We were only staying for the night so I didn't mind it as much. The rooms are beautifully updated and the bathrooms are superb.

The only one downside is LOCATION! If you are going to Philly to see a sporting event, (walking distance to major stadiums - Philly's, Flyers, Eagles) this location is for you. However keep in mind that you are on the actual base and coming in and out of your hotel requires a security check. Not invasive, just your standard "Who are you, and where are you going." Thank goodness we drove as there isn't really much around to walk to. The Navy yard looks like it's undergoing a renovation which is fine however no buses, train or cabbies near by so be prepared.

The only reason this hotel didn't get a five is because of the local. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try your best to rent a car if visiting this hotel. It's on a Naval base so don't forget you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mz_Charisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are defiantly in an up and coming neighborhood. While we don’t have some of the feel of a center city location, we do have lots of parks and water front walkways in our neighborhood that lead to a very calm environment. I apologize that we didn’t fit in with what you were looking for. Hopefully you will have a chance to return to see our growth as a community over the couse of the next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#60 of 85 in Philadelphia
747 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 85 in Philadelphia
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard

Property: Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard
Address: 1001 Intrepid Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19112-1227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience modern style and historic charm in this dynamic city hub when you stay at our new, LEED-certified and eco-friendly hotel in Philadelphia's South neighborhood, the Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard. Located just four miles from Center City, our hotel is the first in The Navy Yard's dynamic urban development offering a unique campus environment with a dedication to sustainability. Experience our state-of-the-art lobby and The Bistro – offering all-day dining, an evening bar and The Navy Yard's only Starbucks®. You'll also enjoy our South Philadelphia hotel's inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax. Tap into the free Wi-Fi throughout our Philadelphia South hotel, or get the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your visit to our hotel's South Philadelphia accommodations is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing