We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not just Another Cheesestak joint”

Joe's Steaks + Soda Shop
Ranked #205 of 4,392 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“not just Another Cheesestak joint”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

To say Joe's is a throwback or old school is an understatement. It is so old school that you would expect the kids from American Bandstand to march in for milkshake. The place has small booths with individual juke boxes. there is counter service and swivel seating. OH, the food was terrific.
Had a cheesesteak with onions. they served hot peppers and pickles on the side. I had the Thursday special large cheesesteak with milkshake for $11. worth every dollar. My spouse had the chicken cheese steak with onions and mushrooms. also a great sandwich. This place is a hole in the wall and is close off US 95 BUT OUT OF THE WAY FROM CENTER CITY. Cash only . open 1030 am to 8pm everyday. during the summer it may be closed on Sundays. Joe himself grilled our sandwiches. they have great Milkshakes, egg creams and different sodas WORTH THE VISIT. WILL GO BACK AGAIN.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LARRYOTTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I don't have much Philly cheesesteak experience IN Philly, but we went here because of the Tripadvisor reviews we saw. It really was very good. Strong onion flavor, and the melted cheese makes them awesome. No cheese wiz here. I was glad about that. I don't think I would have liked that very much. We also tried the shakes, and we got burgers for the kids. All in all, it was tasty. This place is a little out of the way, though, and the neighborhood is questionable. There is really no place to sit a family as big as our there, so I just went in and ordered stuff to go. We also didn't feel safe parking our car on the street and leaving it for a period of time. Overall, the food was good, but the location could be better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank collinsdd1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent cheesesteaks and milkshakes”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I actually almost forgot to review this place. We drove to Philly which is about 3 hours away from my in laws house in New Jersey just to get a real Philly Cheese steak. My husband wanted to go to Geno's or Pats, but I had already read on another website that these places were just tourist traps. I spent about 30 minutes searching for another place and this one kept coming up on the local websites so I begged my husband just to let us go here. But he wanted to at least try Geno's we decided to do a comparison. It was no contest Chinks was so delicious it ruined me for cheese steaks. Geno's tasted just plain awful after having Chinks. We got a chocolate milk shake that was so thick and yummy. The only downside is very little seating and the parking on the side street was kind of tight. We ended up eating our cheese steak in the car.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“11 years in Philly and finally a good cheesesteak”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Now called Joe's I finally found the place to go for a good cheese steak. All flavor, not greasy and great service. A bit hard to find but worth the trouble.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious cheesesteaks, milkshakes, friendly staff!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was very happy that the good reviews of this restaurant were accurate. We came in between lunch and dinner so there were open tables and the bar seating was also open. Squeezing into the very tight booths was another issue but we managed and pulled up a chair for one of us that just couldn't fit in the booth. There were no menus. Everything was painted on the wall. The dress-coordinated servers were very friendly and efficient. I liked that we could choose between 3 different cheeses for our cheesesteaks!the pickles and peppers were yummy on the side, non-greasy fries were served hot. The thinly sliced beef was tender. Would recommend Chinks to. Friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank iag2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Steaks + Soda Shop also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Steaks + Soda Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing