We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steak and shake place in NE Phila Never a disappointment”

Joe's Steaks + Soda Shop
Ranked #181 of 4,342 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Phila, PA U.S.A.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great steak and shake place in NE Phila Never a disappointment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Fresh cut steak for freshest steak around
Cooked great
Shakes ice cream Soda's and
Chocolate egg creams
1950's atmosphere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shakeymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    23
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best Cheesesteaks in Philly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is one place i never miss going to when I'm home in Philly. Forget Pat's And Gino's, this steak shop is the real deal!!! The ambience in this place is second to none. Hasn't probably changed since it opened!! You won't get a better cheesesteak in Philly!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Baconisgoodforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The experience is as good as the cheese steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Yo Tripadvisor -- This is the NAME of the place... It is the founder's nickname, and not an intentional racial slur. Don;t be so P.C.

Ch***nk's is probably not the BEST cheese steak I've ever eaten (and I have eaten THOUSANDS) but it is certainly in the top five of all time.

It is unique, somewhere between the Steve's (whole flat slice) and Jim's (chopped to death) presentation. It works REALLY well, texture-wise. Liscio's rolls were fresh and shiny, and the Wacky Wednesday deal of a large for six bucks was fortuitous. They usually have SOME kind of deal going though.. Meat was tasty and not gristly, the white American cheese melted like a dream (but short of the sauce that Steve's is.) I got more meat than my son did, but both were acceptable portions. Fried onions were 1/4 inch cubes, and caramelized beautifully. Crinkle cut fries only get so good, but these were piping hot, and the Whiz that came on the side worked great on the sammy as well. Lots of people on Yelp complained about the Whiz, but I could see it along with American as a great combo.Whiz is what Whiz is.

Possibly the REAL best thing here is the 1949 vibe. This place is a time capsule, where only the prices have changed (and pretty minimally at that) over five decades. Everything (including real fountain sodas) are made to order. Milkshakes (the half and half was very popular) were killer. Waitstaff is attentive and friendly as you are likely to find on the East Coast. The accents tell you you;re not in Kansas, but the hospitality is sans atty-tude. It really does transport you to another era,,

We got there 12:30 and were lucky to snag the last open booth. Full of regulars, with good reason. Parking is not easy, but there are plenty of side streets, keeping the walk down to an easy block or so.

It was well-worth the 20 minute ride from the Main Line to make this pilgrimage, and it certainly won't be a "one-and-done" experience. I usually find some reason or other to venture up route 1 every month or so, and when I do, this will certainly be a set waypoint on my GPS.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jan_klincewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

** TripAdvisor is saying they can't accept reviews that use profanity. Other than the name of the restaurant, there is nothing profane in my review. So I will replace the full name with "C's". Yeesh! **

The tourists all apparently go to Pat's and Geno's and try to decide which is better. Being nonconformists, my son and I went to Jim's (see my review) and C's. C's wins!

C's opened in 1949, and has stood the test of time. The place is a small storefront off I-95, in northeastern Philly, complete with a soda fountain and a jukebox at each table. Service is friendly, low key and efficient.

The cheesesteaks are available small or large, and you can get extra meat on the large. There are daily specials like a large cheesesteak for six dollars on Wednesdays (regularly $7.95). I ordered the small cheesesteak with provolone, mayonnaise, mushrooms and onions. The meat was well trimmed and tender, the mushrooms were fresh and well cooked and the bread stood up to the fillings nicely. I would have liked more onions, but overall the sandwich was excellent.

The milkshakes are huge, and fortunately we were able to agree on a flavor, mint chocolate chip, so we could split one. Made with Turkey Hill ice cream, it was absolutely perfect: thick, creamy and everything a milkshake should be. I highly recommend it.

Although C's is a little "off the beaten path", I think it's well worth the trip for anyone interested in a superior cheesesteak.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
248 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“cheeseteak!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

very good cheese steak. was there with family who had been there many times. i definitely recommend it. good quality of meat, just the right amount of fried onions and cheese.
a very good roll: thats what makes any cheese steak or hoagie. too bad its not closer to my home.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank biodont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Steaks + Soda Shop also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Steaks + Soda Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing