We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the Heart of Old Philadelphia”
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stay in the Heart of Old Philadelphia”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The hotel is a classic old home that has been very nicely appointed into a comforatable stay. Try not to take too much luggage. Even though the staf is willing and able to help, there is not an elevator and the stairs are narrow.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeecartl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    163
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
96
303
41
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Quick little overnight to Philly and I saw the excellent ratings for Morris House on Trip advisor. Granted we booked late and didn't have the "pick of the litter", but really for the rate charged, I expected a bit more. Room was decidedly average, cleanliness was questionable at best and upon leaving the response to your question about where we could get a full breakfast we heard the dreaded four letters..."IHOP". Too many other great accomodations in Philly to venture a second try, sorry to say.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scenario23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I found it on the internet,, so could not know for sure what I was getting into.. the staff were superior, engaging, friendly, helpful. The physical building in good shape and nicely restored for necessary upgrades, I do like a good bathroom. I'll hope to have opportunity to stay there again..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We relied on the reviews on this site and were rewarded with an excellent choice. The hotel is ideally located near the major attractions in the city and offers quiet comfortable rooms at a competitive price. Nothing like the usual hotels being in a historic house. A great choice for couples visiting the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed 2 nights here recently. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The young woman who assisted us at check in made sure we knew of places to visit and showed us the hotel. The place is old and charming. The downstairs has the check in area, a lovely sitting room with the daily NY Times and Philadelphia paper, a dining area, a dining/library area. Outside is a nice courtyard. Unfortunately, it was 103 both days we were there so we didn't dine outside. We did eat at the M Restaurant which is part of the hotel. We were there for lunch and had flatbread which was good. The restaurant was intimate and lovely. Our room was on the second floor and while the bedroom was small it was well appointed and elegant. Our bathroom was nice size but the shower was very small. Bathrobes were available but we didn't use them. Our room had a flat screen TV, nice size closet, writing table, dresser, queen size bed and two night stands. A continental breakfast was included in the cost of the hotel. It included coffee, tea, juice, water, croissants, muffins & pastries, bagels, apples and cereal. It was very elegant although (and this is very picky) while there were linen tablecloths, the napkins were paper. I would have done linen napkins too.

The hotel is on south 8th street and a short walk to Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, Independence Visitor Center, etc. Despite the heat, we hit them all. In addition to the hotel's restaurant, M, there were various types of restaurants within walking distance. The touring buses can be caught near Independence Hall so transportation is close by. The metro/metra is also close but we didn't use either.

It was a nice place to stay for a couple of nights that gave us a feeling of being part of history.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plan2gosoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I needed to find a hotel for a three night stay near Jefferson Hospital, and started the search looking at generic big-chains. My husband actually took over the search and came across the Morris House. We are so glad we found this beautiful gem of a small hotel. You forget the world outside when you enter this 1780's home turned hotel, even though it is so convenient to cultural and historical sites, as well as Center City. The courtyard is lovely and provides a relaxed setting in which to dine or take refreshments. You do need to try the restaurant at least once while you're there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld08618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Very clean and comfortable. Staff was helpful and friendly. Very easy walk to Independence Hall, Liberty Bell and other attractions. Close to subway. Felt like a safe and secure location. Wish the continental breakfast had more to choose from during the week, it was OK.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FellowTravelerGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Property: Morris House Hotel
Address: 225 S 8th St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing