We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Morris House - a wonderful and charming hotel in Philadelphia.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, Pennsylvania
1 review
“The Morris House - a wonderful and charming hotel in Philadelphia.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel. A great value. We had room 402 which is a suite. We thought the rooms were spacious, clean and charming. Tea and cookies in the afternoon, continental breakfast in the moring ... everything was very fresh with plenty for everyone. Our son is having his wedding there in the fall and we can't wait to return. I know our family and friends are going to love it too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guest723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    159
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
92
296
38
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

Loved the hotel. It brought us back in time. You never really see places like this in the U.S. Yes, there are B & B's but not to many places that were built in 1787. We enjoyed our short stay and hopefully, we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

The hotel was lovely. The room was just as it is pictured at the Morris House web site. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. They went out of their way to answer questions and provide services, such as enlisting a shuttle to the airport. The location is ideal if you want to see the historic sites in the Old City. The hotel is one block from Washington Square. All the historic sites are within a 10-15 minute walk.
Decent restaurants were nearby.
There is no elevator, so you must be able to walk up and down 2 or 3 floors.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spring_Valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We planned an overnight anniversary trip to the city (we live in the burbs), and didn't want to stay in a McHotel so we opted for a B&B. We found the Morris House online and found it to be better than advertised!

You walk in and are greeted by the desk clerk in a smallish foyer. He gave us the basic idea of where things were on the first floor: sitting room, library, door to 8th street. Up we went to the 3rd floor to find a cool, very comfortable room. It was the perfect size and featured a completely modern tiled bathroom. One thing we noticed right away was how quiet it was. You'd never know there was a major city right outside. the East window looked down into the courtyard / outside dining area for the M restaurant. West window looked down onto 8th st.

The decor was tasteful and well done. The bed was excellent and inviting. Fell asleep watching the Phillies play the Braves on the little TV. We also asked the desk clerk for the wi-fi password and were able to do a little research on our sightseeing the next day.

Breakfast was simple. Bagels were great, coffee was great (and I'm snobbish about good coffee). Conversation with Lenka was nice as we had visited her home country many years ago. If we hadn't had plans to play tourist, we would have stayed and relaxed there all day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank double0Zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

The location of this hotel is perfect for the downtown Philly traveller. Right down the street from the Birthplace of America historical sites - Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, check out the Constitution Center (last second decision I did not regret), I went for a play and this hotel was within a 4 minuted walk of my small theatre - St. Stephens. Plenty of restaurants near by, maybe a few bars - I did not go out. 2 or 3 blocks to the subway. I had a 3rd floor room and did not hear the sounds of the city and slept like a baby. Staff was helpful. Breakfast in the morning - fruit, bagels, cereal, coffee, juice - not much, but a start, and free. Rooms were very comfortable and for the price, in the heart of the city - a steal. I did notice the sounds of the subway under my feet during breafast - my room was very quit - might want to ask about the subway noise in other rooms and check other reviews just in case you are a light sleeper. Besides that do stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roonwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

My husband and teenage boys stayed at the Morris Inn and we all were very impressed. Rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated. Bathroom was exceptional clean and shower had full water pressure! I am not a fan of large hotel chains so the Morris Inn was perfect . I felt like I was staying with friends in the city. Loved the white china they used at breakfast and all the wonderful books...wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndfan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trvlite4
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

Stayed here with our adult children, attending our son's Penn graduation. This was a great location for that purpose - University City was very crowded, and we were able to get cabs easily to and from the University, as well as had a great location with respect to Rittenhouse Square restaurants. Right next to Washington park, tomb of unknown soldier, liberty bell. A very peaceful place in the midst of big city noise.

The staff were very helpful, and responsive to every request. The continental breakfast was not too interesting, but the coffee was good. The room was very clean, a nice updated tiled bath/shower (good water pressure), a quiet room overlooking courtyard with greenery and flowers. Wireless highspeed internet was free. A kitchenette sans microwave - a microwave would have been a nice addition, but not necessary (had coffeemaker, two burners, refrigerator, small table, dishes/silverware/glasses).

I definitely preferred this to the two hotels I stayed at near the Penn campus - would choose it again. Only downside was the M restaurant. Ate there one evening - service was subpar (unfriendly server), wine list was lackluster, and food was mediocre. I had arranged for a special birthday dinner for my husband 2 months in advance (had the email to prove it). Not only did they fail to make the reservations, but even after reminding them the day before about the celebration, they forgot it, and came up empty. A real disappointment - it's hard to get all the kids together in one place - the perfect opportunity lost. I kind of felt like our presence was really a problem for them - not a sign of good restaurant management.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlite4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,527 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Property: Morris House Hotel
Address: 225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing