We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Simply put: a wonderful hotel for guests & events!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply put: a wonderful hotel for guests & events!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

A simply wonderful hotel in every respect.

Recently, I was both a guest and event coordinator at a wedding at the Morris House Hotel. It was an excellent experience in both regards.

As a guest, I was impressed by the hotel's convenient location, stunning period architecture and detail, charming and inviting decor and modern amenities. The hotel itself was lovely - classic colonial in keeping with Philadelphia and yet modern. The courtyard where the wedding was held was simply lovely - beautifully and simply landscaped and immaculately maintained. The guestroom was beautifully appointed, clean, and had modern amenities that made it feel like a brand new hotel, instead of an historical one. I would certainly come back to the hotel and would recommend it without hesitation to any future guests.

As an event coordintaor, I was equally impressed. Working with the staff at the Morris House and with their caterer Max Hansen Caterers was delightful. We worked as a team to create a perfect and memorable event. Both the Morris House and Max Hansen Caterers showed that there were committed to making the wedding run smoothly: they warmly greeted guests, worked professionally and cordially with all vendors and were able to anticipate any issues before they happened. The wedding was perhaps one of the most unique events that I have coordinated, and that was in large part due to the beautiful location at the Morris House. I would recommend the Morris House to any of my clients who are having a wedding of 120 guests or less.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s-oneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    146
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
86
280
38
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

My boyfriend and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary at the hotel. We enjoyed a nice, quiet, and romantic gateway close to home. Our room was very spacious with a bed, sofa and a desk. The bathroom was also spacious and clean. The location was perfect, close to convenient stores, shops, and tourist attractions. It's about a ten minute ride for where we live in Port Richmond. We enjoyed walking around the grounds of the hotel, which is exquisite. We also had an intimate, romantic dinner at the M Restaurant. The atmosphere was lovely. The food was very delicious and satisfying. We highly recommend Steak St. James and Bruschetta, and of course, the dessert. The staff was very friendly. We had the privilege to meet the owner, Pasqual and his family at the restaurant, which was a pleasure. They made us feel like we were having dinner with friends.

It was very relaxing sitting in the living room looking at all of the photo albums of weddings at the Morris House Hotel. I'm very interested finding out further information about having the rehearsal dinner at the M Restaurant and ceremony at the hotel.

Brandon was also nice and polite. If we had any questions about the hotel or places to go, he pointed us in the right direction.

We look forward returning to the Morris House Hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oreilly608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We really enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the room was adorable and had a lot of character. We would definitely return and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terpsgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I just returned from a business/sighseeing trip to Philadelphia and a stay at the Morris House Hotel. The hotel was recommended by a colleague whose office is nearby and who knows that I love quaint, elegant boutique hotels. I reviewed the website before booking and hoped that my stay would live up to the expectations that created. It did. The Morris House is a beautiful Colonial mansion built in 1787 by a member of the Morris family and is listed on the National Historical Register. The exterior of the building looks as if it has remained unchanged for 200 years. It makes you feel as if you should be alighting from a horse-drawn carriage with the help of liveried footmen. That same ambience continues in the entry area which is dominated by a large fire place and a circular stair case leading down. You then pass through the common rooms - a sitting room, dining room and library - all beautifully appointed in 18th Century style with either real antiques or very good reproductions. The contenintal breakfast is served each morning in the dining room on real china with crystal glassware and silverware.

The guest rooms are up a narrow stair case that has to be original to the house. The floors throughout the hotel are the original wide-plank pine with hand-made nails visible. My room was spacious with the same wonderful wood floors covered by oriental rugs. There was a (non-working) fireplace and a four-poster antique bed along with other antique furnishings. The bathroom was large and modern. The airconditioning/heat was operated by remote control and made the room quite comfortable. The service was excellent. A pleasant surprise was the service of tea and cookies each late afternoon.

The Hotel is ideally located for sightseeing in the City Center. It is within easy walking distance of Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, etc.

The only problem I would mention is that noise can be an issue. The house is 200 years old and therefore creaks with every movement. Sound proofing was not possible in the 18th Century. Also, the rooms on the front, like mine, are subject to all the street noises from 8th St. However, a pair of silicone earplugs solved that minor incovenience.

All and all, it was a delightful stay and a wonderful way to experience as close to 18th Century life, while still enjoying all the modern amenities, as possible. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravlerkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Recently, my daughter was married in the courtyard of the Morris House Hotel. We were guests in the hotel that evening and were impressed with the attentive staff, beautifully furnished rooms, and period artwork. Close to Independence Hall and historic sites, it was a special location reminiscent of the elegance of colonial times.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catlover0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Ideal place for family members to stay to attend a personal event. Room was spacious, beautifully decorated, quiet, and clean. Buffet breakfast was very good, as was afternoon tea. Great location to explore historic Philadelphia an foot. Event attended there was superb and food fantastic. A very well restored and beautiful historic building. Excellent service provided by all staff. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CassandraQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

The hotel is located in a central place, easy to access all of the historical area. The people working in the hotel love their jobs. They treat you like family. The room we stayed in was great. Comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was good, breads, cereal and fruit...nice tea selection also.
There is a great restaurant across the patio called M. It is owned by the same folks as the hotel. It was a surprise! Farm fresh produce-the yellow and red tomatoes on the caprese salad were just picked. Home made tomato sauce on my just made ravioli and it tasted fantastic, my husband enjoyed a great steak. The chef even accomodated a friend who is allergic to gluten-she had a great meal as well! The wine list has a large variety to enjoy and the service was fun and enthusiastic.
We went back later on in the evening and they kept the place open a little longer for us so we could enjoy one more glass of wine in the bar before retiring. This experience was one of the highlights for our visit to Philly. We would definetly recommend this place as well as return ourselves.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SanAntonioTexasParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,989 reviews
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Property: Morris House Hotel
Address: 225 S 8th St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing