We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience at the Morris House”
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2006

We spent New Year's Eve at the Morris House Hotel and loved it. We were in the addition next to the main house in, what I am assuming, would be called the "Extended Stay Suite." Contrary to the earlier review (unless they were in a different room), the room was quite large, with a huge and brand new bathroom, spotless hardwood floors, a small kitchen area w/coffee maker, a large sitting area and nice-sized bedroom with a fabulous quilt. Yes, the room was decorated in an Ikea style (not 50s retro), but that added to the appeal for me. It really felt as though we were staying in a city apartment. The only criticisms I would have are that our view was bad (adjoining roof and cooling system) although the room wasn't focused on the view, so no great loss. Also, we were on the third floor and, like traditional bed and breakfasts, there was no elevator, so carrying the bags was a hike. However, that is to be expected at a B&B, so no real reason to complain. Breakfast was good - homemade baked goods, cereal, juice and really good fresh fruit salad.

Overall, I would definitely return. If, however, you really want the traditional B&B experience, it would probably be advisable to request a room in the main house, or simply explain what type of accommodation you would like.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 576 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
442
Reviewed November 22, 2005

The Morris House Hotel is an above average B&B. I was in Philadelphia for work, and needed to be close to Society Hill. It was ideal for that. I stayed in room 202, and it was very pleasant; a large room, with lots of books, and a good bed. The bathroom is a little small for such a large room; but nice L'Occitane lotions and shampoo. There is a bit of rumbling from the subway but I live in the inner city so that didn't bother me (indeed it seemed quiet). Breakfast was the usual bagels and cereal; and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. B&B's are not my thing, so I'm not likely to rave about this place; but it was very nice and in a great location. Their website gives a really good/homest indication of what the place is like.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ashburn, VA
114
Reviewed November 4, 2005

We were part of three couples who took a weekend getaway in Philadelphia. The couple who paid the most for an "Extended Suite" ended up in a building next to the historic mansion rather than in it and to add insult to injury, the suite was not that big (extended refers to length of stay) and was decorated in retro 50's decor. Yuck! Do the owners really think that anyone wants to come to the historic district of Philadelphia and book themselves into a historic inn so that they can stay in a 50's room? The other two couples had very nice rooms in the main house although our room faced 8th Street and twice during the middle of the night, someone pounded on the external door and woke us up. Add a continental instead of full breakfast offered at such a pricey place and I'm afraid I can't endorse The Morris House to anyone.

Stayed: October 2005
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ktjnemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Richmond, VA
112
Reviewed August 24, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lsiets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2005

Stayed: August 2005
10  Thank lewdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Address: 225 S 8th St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $176 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing