We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend in Philly”
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We found the Morris House Hotel charming and very welcoming. It is in a very quaint, old building. Unfortunately, at times that can be problematic. There were 3 of us in suite 101. There was a damp musty smell, a shortage of hot water and insufficient lighting. On the other hand, the bed was very comfortable.The breakfast, afternoon cookies and glass of wine were a welcomed addition.

Room Tip: Recommend an upstairs room due to musty smell in Room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 585 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our room 303 was a cozy, quaint, and quiet room with a nice sitting area. This room faces the courtyard but wasn't noisy, at least during our stay. The bed was very, very comfortable. The bathroom is a little tight and only has a shower, but it was good enough. We were happy with the concierge services provided by Walbert. He was able to offer just the right dining recommendations to meet our needs. The only thing we weren't impressed was the breakfast. Breakfast was offered from 7am to 10am with limited food choices to begin with. All the "good stuff" (croissant, quiche, etc.) were gone by 9am when we went down and the hotel couldn't replenish them. It would greatly enhance the overall Morris House B&B experience if the hotel management can improve its breakfast quality and quantity.

Room Tip: Room 303 is definitely a good choice, but one has to feel comfortable climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Morris House really exceeded my expectations. It’s a small, historic home turned into a really quaint B&B style hotel. The hotel is split into a main house and a secondary building which is accessible through the interior courtyard. During my stay, I reserved an apartment in the secondary building, which also houses the hotel’s restaurant. I stayed in room 502 which is classified as a “Large Extended Suite”. In reality, it’s a giant fully equipped apartment with a kitchen, living room and large bedroom. It has everything you need for an extended trip to Philly.
If you’re looking to get away from the mundane, standardized feel of other hotels, give Morris House a try. Here’s a quirky tidbit: Each of the portraits in the dining room and library are family members or friends of the owners. Pretty hilarious.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belvie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed in the main building of the Morris House in March. A lovely gem with historical charm in a charming and cozy B&B. The area was clean, safe and parking was in a convenient stacked lot across the street. There is a 10% discount when the hotel validates your parking ticket, but still a little pricey. We enjoyed the light and convenient continental breakfast with a nice selection of tea. It really helped us start our day without going out to look for breakfast. The bedding was comfortable and the staff quick and attentive. The convenient M restaurant next door was incredible. The live jazz was wonderful, good wine, excellent service and the food selection was a little on the adventurous side. We really enjoyed that! Our room, #203, had a sitting room, overlooked the courtyard which was beautifully lit and empty in winter and must be fantastic and lively in the summertime. Close to Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. If you are a light sleeper, we did hear and feel some light metro rumbling. Our room was on the 2nd floor so, not sure if this is the case on the upper floors. Overall, we loved this place and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a sweet historical experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peacelovetravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

To be fair, we stayed in property that adjoined the hotel via the central courtyard. Perhaps not the actual Morris hotel building, but certainly nothing that affected our stay. Paid just over 250$ on expedia. A couple of flights of stairs but worth the hike with luggage.

The room felt like an apartment I could never afford. Full-kitchen. 10 foot ceilings. Hardwood. Leather chairs, comfortable sofa. Big bathroom. Jaccuzzi tub. Maybe don't open the window of the bathroom if you don't want to smell the exhaust from the kitchen of the restaurant next door, but the marble shower was spacious and very comfortable. Great toiletries provided.

There's a little book for a dollar at the reception that I highly recommend buying. It's a short read and recounts the history of the property. Fascinating read. For example, in the first floor hall there is a grandfather clock from 1730 with sixteen bullet holes in it. Revolutionary War. Drunken Brits. I'd tell you but it would cost you a dollar.

Park directly across from the hotel at the hospital parking lot. You will be in your car in 3 minutes. The hotel will give you 15% off and will adjust your ticket you take from the machine at the front-desk. I paid 25$ for 24-hours.

Wifi is free, fast. iPhone 4 alarm clock. Breakfast was nothing more than fruit and pastries.

Staff setting up weekend wedding tents and sundry. Apparently this place is booked out all summer for nuptials.

Hotel restaurant was priced reasonably with a table-d'hote for 45$/pp. There is also live jazz on Wed and Fri. Happy hour has 5$ drinks.

If you've got the brass, stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stu_W1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I am an admirer of architecture and staying at the Morris House Hotel was a delightful treat. I spent some time admiring the original fireplaces. There is no typical lobby instead there were two sitting rooms just beyond the entrance. One of the rooms had a cloth covered table with china cups and saucers for coffee and tea. After braving the arctic winds walking from the train station, it was lovely to have a hot cup of coffee and a homemade cookie.

I had a suite on the third floor and the feel of the room is more like a charming guest room in someone's home than a hotel room. The bathroom was perfect. Plenty of toiletries, towels and a huge shower stall.

The bed was super comfortable with lots of pillows.

I would suggest asking for a room on the lower floors if you have an issue with walking up stairs. There isn't an elevator and I am glad for it.

I didn't sample the breakfast so can't review the quality of the food. However, next time I'm in town I will stay at the Morris House and enjoy the breakfast.

If you love history, architecture and unique boutique hotels, you must stay at the Morris House Hotel. It's close to many attractions and restaurants and, for such a lovely hotel, the price is right.

Room Tip: Top floor suite if you want quiet and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Looking to stay in the historical district, yet not in a big chain hotel, we found Morris House. What a find it was. Our room was large, yet comfy. We were able to walk to the historical area and fine restaurants within minutes. The only part that needs some adjustment was the continental breakfast. As high quality as the hotel is, the breakfast was incredibly average. Overall a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithherlong06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,394 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#14 of 88 in Philadelphia
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Hill
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Chestnut Hill Hotel
#13 of 88 in Philadelphia
496 reviews
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Address: 225 S 8th St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $153 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing