We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in a home”
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Morris House is intimate and comfortable. You know you are in Philadelphia; many of the books are by and about Philadelphia. The staff is helpful and the rooms are each unique and comfortable. The restaurant next door is superb, with an attentive staff responsible to special needs. A gem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryIditarod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 582 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful little hotel: great location, historic building, wonderful staff.
The restaurant and bar are great, and our bartender/waiter/front desk clerk, Lowell, was friendly, extremely helpful, and made both our dinner and, later, our hotel stay special!
What a find! We can't wait to come back this summer for a romantic weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suepound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

On a 2 weeks tour of the east coast we were passing through Philadelphia and were looking for somewhere to stay.

From the moment of walking through the front doors we were transported back in time to another world. The hotel and the staff were amazing, it was less like staying in a hotel and more like staying with family. Every room was has its own personality and is something out of the norm.

We had a smallish size room, but one of the nicest beds that I have slept in. I did not seem a room safe and you had to go down stairs for coffee (however this was complimentary).

My definition of perfect is 'lots of small things done well' and this hotel certainly does that. Its attention to detail is superb.

If you are a business guest then this place might not be the right place for you.

My only regret is that I did not invest in a larger room and stay for longer.

Room Tip: I think that you book a specific room. Make sure that you take your time to look at the options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KieHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I planned a romantic weekend getaway to nearby Philly for Valentine's Day and chose this boutique hotel for its location and reputation as romantic. True! Not only was it a block from the Walnut Street theater and lovely Washington Square, but our room was comfortably appointed and quiet, service was fast and efficient, and the adjacent M Restaurant provided just the right level of intimacy. What a hidden gem! We will be back in a warmer season to enjoy the outdoor dining.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The friendly staff made us feel welcome from the start, giving us a tour of the sitting room & breakfast room before showing us upstairs to our mini-suite. The entire hotel is furnished with antiques, and everything is in good working order. We enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine in the adjoining restaurant. The hotel is conveniently located in Philadelphia's historic area and is a short walk from numerous attractions and restaurants. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Due to a third-party site's error, we stayed in a hotel-owned apartment across 8th Street, but enjoyed guest amenities in the beautiful restored hotel. Those included the very comfortable sitting room with a convincingly roaring fireplace and the cold breakfast buffet with great coffee, which we were told is available all day and evening. Reception and service were warm, helpful and efficient, especially notable in the way our situation was quickly resolved. There's a parking garage across the street - guests receive a 15% discount - and buses to Broad Street and west run on Walnut Street, a half block away. Would love to return in late spring through fall when the courtyards should be pretty. Not having experienced a guest room, I can't give 5 stars, but if they match the service that would be deserved.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikeLivingThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our stay here was a welcome oasis on a bitter cold night. Our room (204) faced a lovely snow-covered courtyard. It was quiet, cozy, immaculate and well-appointed. The best part, by far, was the bed. I don't know what kind it was, but we felt like we were sleeping on a cloud.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastcoastbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,389 reviews
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Address: 225 S 8th St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $161 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing