We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful retreat!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Ash, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My sister and I loved our stay at the Morris House room 203. The ambiance, staff and foods were wonderful. We started our morning with mini-quiches, cereal, delicious breads and potent coffee in a period style dining room before our days of sight seeing. In the evening, we returned to the beautiful and restful patio, sipped complementary wine and relived our day's activities. We also looked forward to the delicious home baked cookies after our wine. Because we ate late lunches (City Tavern and Penns Landing), we never tried the restaurant. We realized that we were going back in time and thus would need to take steps (rather than an elevator) to our room. An in-room coffee maker would have been welcomed -- we knew this in advance so brought our own mini-coffee maker. We totally loved our stay in this special hotel.

Room Tip: Room 203 is the first room at the top of the stairs. There's a TV in bedroom, but not the sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    151
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
89
287
38
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I just checked out of this historic hotel; the building had another use before becoming a hotel. It was built in the 18th century.
Everything was very good. The room was very comfortable and I enjoyed reading old World Book encyclopedias from the '60's. The PATCO subway runs under the hotel and it rattled all the furniture in the room but I got used to it.
When I return home next year I will stay there with relatives. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgefromSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had room 301. which was lovely and comfortable but up some steep stairs. We loved this hotel, the only thing we didn't like was how they served their breakfast. Self service in two separate rooms, I would have liked better bread and fruit.
Despite my reservations with breakfast, we could not fault this hotel for anything else. Room comfort, efficiency of reception staff with bookings etc. and the hotel's proximity to Independence Square was brilliant.
Taxi drivers struggled a bit to find it though, as you have to go beyond it to come back down a one way street.

If you don't like plastic style modern hotels, this one oozes old style charm and elegance

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuBois, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the 2nd time I've had the pleasure of staying at the Morris House Hotel on South 8th street in Philadelphia.
The hotel is a huge piece of history and is decorated accordingly. it is comfortable and perfectly located right around the corner from Washington Square.
The best restaurants are just a block or two away and also close to so many historic locations.
The staff certainly knows excellence in customer service as they tend to every single need you have.
I love this hotel and would stay again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Courtyard. It is just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam15801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed there for a month. Best vacation ever.This warm upscale well managed hotel offers comfort solitude efficient friendly atmosphere. Staff is excellent,gives individual courteous attention to all. Colonial rooms lovely. Near Wash Square park.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenasgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful two nights at the Morris House Hotel. Located downtown near Washington Square Park, it is in a perfect location to visit the historical sights of Philadelphia. The room was comfortable and cosy. Staff were friendly and helpful. Could not ask for anything more. Breakfast was good. Parking is across the street in a parking deck. Is on my list for a place to stay in Philadelphia.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I loved the Morris House Hotel. As a single (female) traveller I immediately felt at home. When you land alone in a foreign city it's a huge comfort to feel that the people you're staying with give a damn, and that's why I chose Morris House over the standard chains. I loved the period details, the sense of the past, and the feeling that you're sharing a bit of Philadelphia history (and I'm originally English!), The staff offer just the right balance of privacy and engagement, The bed was blissfully comfortable. The night staff could have been a little quieter, I felt, and the subway is as loud as everyone says if you let it get to you, but I was also excited to be in Philly and horribly jetlagged from Europe, so there's no way I was going to get a good night's sleep anyway for the first few days.

If you're solo, or suffering from the time difference like me, try a bite in the M bar next door. Not big, but perfect and delicious for a tummy that's not sure what time it is. I opted for the most local of cheeses, delivered to the door by the Amish farmer who makes it, and given a Japanese-style butterscotch paste (forgive me guys, it's late here and I forget the proper name) to go with it. It's very rare my food makes me go "ooooohhhhhh" ;-)

After a seriously good G&T - and I know my G&Ts - I got chatting with the staff, and also with the co-owner on the second night. I was impressed. I didn't have the best night's sleep ever at the Morris House, but I'm bitten by the Philadelphia bug, and having been there once I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I could avoid it!

Thank you!

Room Tip: If you want total quiet, the further away from the subway the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,079 reviews
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Property: Morris House Hotel
Address: 225 S 8th St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing