We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful hotel but spoilt by the noise from the trains!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but spoilt by the noise from the trains!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful hotel. BUT, I stayed in rooms on the 8th St side of the building (Rooms 202 and 302) and the rumblings from the trains underneath were unbelievable - the bed shook, the furniture and fitting rattled.... The trains don't run late, but they start pretty early in the morning - not too bad if you're staying there for work and have early meetings, but if you want a restful lie-in, it's not ideal....!

Rooms are fitted out nicely, have a historic feel to them. Room 202 felt nicer than 302. The showers felt a bit dark and uninviting, but they worked well enough.

Complimentary breakfast had highs and lows - some lovely small quiches and what tasted like home-cooked breads - lovely. But the only real healthy option was whole fruit - apples and oranges (and maybe this is super-fussy, but aren't oranges are a bit of a pain to peel yourself, especially if you're not at home with a sink nearby to wash your hands??!)

Room Tip: Avoid the noisy rooms on the 8th St side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeffer_Relli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Zeffer:
Thank you so much for your kind review and taking time to share your experience of Morris House on Tripadvisor. It's our pleasure to greeting you and having you as our guests. Thank your for praising our beautiful hotel, helpful staff and great location. Also we feel deeply sorry about rumblings because of the underneath subway. We appreciate your comments about breakfast options and the showers and we certainly will do our best to improve on all of them. We really hope that you can stay with us again when you next time visit USA. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    146
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
85
274
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at Morris House in Philadelphia the second time in a year recently. A year ago I was quite surprised to find such a charming and affordable hotel, with antiques in every roon, attentive staff, continental breakfast, afternoon teas, wine tasting, a quiet patio and library . . . and all within two blocks of Independence Hall and within easy walking distance of the convention center. This second time my wife accompanied me and while I spent most of my time at the convention, she was able to fully enjoy the comforts and features of Morris House. The staff was supurb, arranging for cabs, assistance with bags. On our last day, after checking out and while spending afternoon time at Reading Market before returning to claim our bags and go to the airport, we learned that our flight that evening was cancelled . . . We returned to the Morris House and were very happy to learn that they could make a room available to us for this unexpected extra night's stay, at the same rate as our regular stay. Absolutely recommend Morris House for any traveller to Philadelphia who wants comfort and charming surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for room 201, the large room above the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew_H_ashaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Andrew,
Sincere greeting from Morris House. Thank you for choosing Morris House and second time stay with us. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you for complementing our superb staffs, charming surroundings, quite library, etc. Please let us know if you have planning to come and stay with us again. We are looking forward to assist you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It is one of the best bed and breakfast places we stayed. The building was magnificent. The staff was very friendly. Our room was very cozy with a cute four-poster bed. We enjoyed the freshly baked cookies in the afternoon with some herbal tea and coffee. The breakfast was delicious. Everything was fresh. The best part of the hotel was their restaurant next door. The M Restaurant. I think there is no match to their menu anywhere in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurayaykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests:
Sincere greetings from Morris House. Thank you ever so much on a most wonderful review. We are thrilled you have enjoyed your stay with us. If you are planning to come and stay with us again, please let us know. We would be pleased to assist you with your travel arrangements. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel main floor is very tastefully decorated with period furnishings. We stayed in an extended suite above the restaurant next door. Our suite was quite large and comfortable. We had a kitchenette, sitting room, bedroom and large bathroom complete with a whirlpool tub. The room was beautifully decorated. Even though we were above the restaurant, our room was very quiet and relaxing. We were within a few block of Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell...the location is ideal for history lovers. There were plenty of restaurants nearby and also a convenient parking garage, which the hotel will validate your parking slip for a discount on parking. We were so close to everything that we didn't need to use our car until we were ready to go home. The hotel staff was first class. Breakfast each morning was very nice and just the right amount to get you started on your day. When back in the Philly area, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get an extended suite if you are bringing kids. The large sofa in the sitting room pulls out for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie21124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing Morris House for your visit to Philadelphia. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for praising efforts of our hotel staffs and breakfasts that we provide. Please let us know if we can help with your reservation when you decide to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Beautiful building, great restaurant, delightful staff. The room was tastefully decorated with a comfortable bed and a surprisingly adequate bathroom. (Typically hard to find in in these historic buildings). "M" restaurant was just right..."Lora Dee" is spot on with bar service. Food is tasty. Very convenient for hotel guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your kind review and for taking time to share you great experience in Morris House. It makes our efforts worthwhile when our guests enjoy their stay. We hope we will have the pleasure of greeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at the Morris House Hotel for three nights alone. The staff was reassuring and gave me a tour of the hotel as soon as I arrived. The hotel is walking distance to three hospitals and also close to the historic section of the city. I stayed in two different rooms, both were very clean, beautifully decorated and had modern amenities including a bathroom, TV and internet if needed. Since I was on the run to the Pennsylvania Hospital at different hours it was great having the complimentary breakfast before leaving in the morning and cookies upon arriving back to the hotel in the late afternoon. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and always available. The area where the hotel is located was in a nice area and I felt safe during the day walking back and forth to the hospital.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marylo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Morris House. Thank you for complementing the helping staffs and nice afternoon cookie. Thank you for choosing Morris House. We hope you night be able to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Morris House Hotel combines the hominess and ambience of a bed-and-breakfast with the privacy and service of a typical hotel. Our room was comfortable, roomy and quiet. The complimentary tea, coffee and cookies available each evening were greatly appreciated. We also enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine prior to dinner. Starting our day off with a delicious breakfast eaten by a warm fire was just what the doctor ordered.

We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Morris House and thank you for sharing you great experience of your stay. We are so pleased you remember our nice complimentary tea, coffee, cookies and a glass of wine. We hope we will have an opportunity to greeting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,558 reviews
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Property: Morris House Hotel
Address: 225 S 8th St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing