We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morris House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$147
$125
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$150
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$178
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$154
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$171
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$198
$161
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveler rating
386
172
27
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
172
27
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashington squarethe main housecontinental breakfastno elevatorsitting roomcomplimentary glass of winepennsylvania hospitalhistoric innfreshly baked cookiesthird floorindependence hallcharming hotelmodern conveniencesacross the streethistoric sitesliberty bellsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 606 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time during our stay at the Morris House Hotel. The classic historic elegance of the home and rooms were fantastic. The common areas warm, and inviting. We truly enjoyed the added touches of the cookies and hot chocolate available in the afternoon and evening as well as the scrumptious breakfast items that were available the next morning. The staff, especially Cara, were sweet, helpful and efficient! We would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in historic classic homes and anyone interested in touring historical Philadelphia!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieS2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. Great to hear you overall experience of Morris House during your stay was good. We appreciate that you recommended our hotel to those potential guests who are also interested in historic classic homes! Please feel free to contact us if you decide to come to Morris House again, we would be pleased to assist you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The historic charm of the main house and common areas quickly evaporated when we were ushered into our "large extended suite," which was a long, skinny, one-bedroom apartment decorated 100% with cheap Ikea furnishings. The romantic weekend I had planned for my new love turned into an embarrassment for me. Plus the bathroom sink was clogged. How does that even happen, since the maid has to use the sink to clean it every day?

Room Tip: Do not book the large extended suite unless you like discount Swedish furnishings.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrutusDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are deeply sorry your experience of our hotel was not enjoyable. We take our guests' comments seriously and we will improve on some of the issues you have raised. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to be able to get a chance to greet you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

As soon as we walked in the door, it felt like we were taking a step back in time. We were greeted and given a tour of the property. Don't worry about not having an elevator, there aren't very many stairs and the staff will take care of your luggage. We stayed on the third floor in room 302. The whole place felt like you were getting to stay in a museum! Cookies are provided after each maid service and every day at 3:00 (usually cookies are remaining when you get back in the evening) and they are to die for!! There is also a restaurant called the "M" next door and it is delicious. Their menu changes frequently, but everything is great and hotel guests get 10% off their order! The location was fantastic. It's right downtown next to the liberty bell and other museums as well as Jim's Steaks, a famous Cheesesteak eatery. Everything is within walking distance. Can't say enough about this fabulous hotel...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pongahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing Morris House and thank you for sharing your experience of staying Morris House. And you are very welcome anytime. It was great to have you as our guests and it will be our honor to greet you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at the Morris House Hotel. It was conveniently located across the street from Wills Eye Institute where my husband was having eye surgery. We stayed in a suite which was very roomy and had a kitchenette. Although this is a historic building, the rooms had been nicely updated. We were not in the main building which gave us privacy. The outside door to the building we were in was accessed with a key so it felt secure. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well maintained.

The staff was very accommodating, especially Lowell at the front desk. Room rates were very reasonable and included what was described as a continental breakfast. I expected coffee and a roll but the breakfast selection was very generous as well as diverse. It included quiche, fresh fruit, and a charcuterie as well as the usual cereals and sweet rolls.

Dinner at their restaurant M was fine dining with a lovely atmosphere. I would certainly recommend this hotel and restaurant. I hope to stay here again but this time for a getaway to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chezbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your most kind review on Trip advisor and particularly for particularly for praising efforts of our colleague, Lowell, the front desk. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to be able to get a chance to greet you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews