We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - Romantic”
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We went to Philadelphia to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and could not have felt more at home than we did at the Morris House.

First, let me tell you, this is an excellently executed Hotel/B&B hybrid. Built in an old house, you would think there would be some shabbiness and some weird smells - Not true at all!!! The rooms are wonderfully clean with impeccable historic design. I cannot write this review without mentioning our spacious the rooms are. Truly, this hotel felt like home away from home.

The staff were amazing as well. We arrived very early in the morning (about 6 hours ahead of check-in). They stored our bags and immediately offered us a complimentary breakfast. All three members of the staff we interacted with (Samantha, Lenka and Lowel?) were incredibly knowledgeable about Philadelphia and extremely pleasant. You couldn't ask for better service.

Here are some pros and cons about the Morris House Hotel

Pros:
+LOCATION! Literally, a two minute walk to Independence Hall. So close to all the historic places that we were able to go back for a quick nap and afternoon tea (really, we just ate the cookies).
+Complimentary Services - breakfast (delicious), afternoon tea (lovely), free wifi (a little spotty, but still great), fully outfitted like a hotel (hair dryer, toiletries) - they even have umbrellas to rent (free but they hold your credit card number in case you don't return it) in the event of unpleasant weather.
+Cozy rooms. Modern heating and cooling make the rooms very comfortable. Tons of storage for items. Comfortable beds.
+Emphasis on safety. The Morris House has taken great care to ensure the safety of their guests and ease any stress. Fabulously done!

Cons: (These were not cons for us, but could be for other people)
-Directly over the Philadelphia Metro. Occasionally, the passing trains underneath would shake the house. Noticeable if you were awake but was not so bad that I woke up during the night (I'm a very light sleeper).
-Holds Events. Hotel hosts many weddings and events. We were on the 3rd floor and couldn't hear a thing, but I'm not sure about the lower floors.
-Room Service is absurdly priced - though it is more of a B&B than hotel, so that makes sense.

For reference, we stayed in room 301.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Philadelphia - though please read the fine print (historic house = no elevator and not best suited for children). You definitely get your moneys worth here. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 301 has a ton of natural light and great view of the street. Oh, and it's HUGE. Tons of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guests,
Sincere greeting from Morris House and thank you for sharing detailed information about Morris House on Tripadvisor. We definitely will keep our good parts that you mentioned, Complimentary service, cozy rooms, friendly and helpful staffs. Your positive experience makes all our efforts worthwhile. We deeply feel sorry about the subway noise and price of room service. We hope you have chance to greet you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 576 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nice decorated spaceaous room. Very charming old (monumental) house in a nice area of the city of Philadelphia.Wooden steps are peeping when walking. There is no elevator.

Restaurant is in contrast with hotel very modern and the dinner we had there was very very special.

Park to sit and walk is around the corner as well as the historical sights to see. Good restaurants are also in the nearby area.

We found are bed sheets dirty ( red stains ) when we first opened it. Quite a shock for such a quality hotel. But manager and staff did everything to make it allright. We were offered a glass of wine in the bar.

Front desk staff we did not find friendly and welcoming at all but very uninterested, except for one younger male employeé which was the opposite.

Breakfast served in the salon downstairs was a bit of a problem, not enough of everything. And most inportant the look on the face of the female employee at the front desk when asking for more bread etc. Very very unfriendly. It is really a big mistake to not take care of the breakfast.

Hotel wants to be a 4 star but the whole atmosphere is not good, not welcoming, not friendly and staff has too much attitude which is totally misplaced.

Room was fine, house is beautiful, area is good, staff should be more well mannered, home-made cookies and coffee are a fine treat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank August P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guests,
We are sincerely and truly sorry to hear your experience of Morris House was not a success and that you found our front desk staff isn't friendly and welcoming. We will most certainly make all efforts to insure this will not happen again and improve the issues that you were dissatisfied with. Thank you for your review and we hope to have chance to greet you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My stay at the hotel was lovely. The staff at the front desk on all days extended themselves to me and were very attentive to all my requests. The feel of the hotel was authentic and warm. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a lovely night's sleep, while staying in a lovely historic hotel with wonderful amenities.

On the icing on the cake was a LOVELY dinner in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind review. Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us in Morris House. Thank you for complimenting us as a lovely hotel and recommending us to other Tripadvisor readers. We are looking forward to assist you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September 2012, and found it to be one of the nicest historic hotels I've ever stayed in. The location is fantastic - it's centrally located in Philadelphia. My issue with most historic hotels is that all or parts of the property tend to look very shabby and worn down. Not so with Morris House. They do not have an elevator since they are historic, but staff will bring your bags up and down for you. The room I stayed in had historic looking color scheme, furniture, and accents, but was also totally modernized in all the necessary ways. The bathroom was modern and fully functional and the bed was great (that's all I really required). I also found that the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Charming place. If you've been burned with other historic hotels, don't be afraid to try this one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank betsy_carroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your fantastic review and for choosing us. We are thrilled to hear that you have a great experience of Morris House when you visit Philadelphia. We are looking forward to assist you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Built in 1787, The Morris House Hotel is located within a few minute walk of Independence Hall and is a National Historic Landmark. Their website notes: "Today the Morris House at 225 South Eight Street is a window into the colonial past."

You would be thinking of rooms with wide plank flooring, furnished with Windsor chairs, four poster beds, and cozy fireplaces, right? You would be wrong if you ended up in Room 502, one of the "Extended Luxury Suites", as I did on a recent visit.

Room 502 is an an adjacent building, a short walk across an attractive courtyard. The attraction ends there. One schleps up two flights of stairs, down a hallway, all covered in worn, dirty carpeting best described as gray pastiche, to enter a "suite" consisting of one long room, punctuated into a bath, kitchenette, and seating area, with the bedroom located at the end. The bedroom and bathroom are not adjacent; they are at opposite ends of the suite, separated by kitchenette and seating area. Furniture is by Ikea (we checked; saw the labels).

I do not have a problem with any of this save for one thing. Disclosure. I made my reservation via phone. I spoke to the staff of the hotel. They did not tell me that my room would be circa 1950, nor did they tell me, had I just broken my leg, that Room 502 is not handicap accessible. If your product grossly does not match what you advertise on your website, then you have a responsibility to tell potential customers.

My quest for the uniquely Colonial boutique Philadelphia hotel continues. This is not it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxNJ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guests,
We are sincerely sorry you haven't enjoyed your stay in Morris House. We apologize for any inconvenience because of no handicap accessible in Room 502 and you are right, we should communicate this better to our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience and indicating to us areas of improvement. We certainly are taking efforts on improving these areas. We are looking forward to assist you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Really lovely place superbly positioned. Not a chain hotel & it shows in a very positive way. Be aware no restaurant on Mondays but plenty around the very near vicinity. Enjoy a unique old building with modern facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyGosling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing Morris House and your kind review. Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us in Morris House. If you ever decide come and stay in Philly, it's our honor to greet you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Loved our first visit to the Morris House Hotel. Charming, intimate and conveniently located in center city Philadelphia. You can walk anywhere in the city from historic Independence Mall area and Old City to up town, great shopping and dining on Walnut Street. Spent much of a beautiful fall day on Pine Street, Antique Row. In addition to all the antique stores on Pine Street, it is dotted with lots of artsy stores including SOTA (Spirit of the Arstist), vintage clothing and cute cafes. Loved our visit and will definitely stay at Morris House Hotel again.

Room Tip: Stayed on the third floor, room 301. It was beautiful but remember, there is no elevator. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guests,
Sincere thanks and warm greetings from all of us in Morris House. We are so happy you have enjoyed your stay in Morris House last year. Thank you again and we are looking forward to greeting you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Address: 225 S 8th St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $176 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing