We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Familiar atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Familiar atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I chose this hotel for it was the nearest to Jefferson Hospital, were I had a meeting. It is very close to Philadelphia city center and it is located in an historical building from 18th century. The rooms are comfortable and have old furniture. The room was very quite, without the typical fan noise of big hotels, and the temperature was perfect, so I slept very well. The breakfast was included and satisfying. The hotel has also a wonderful courtyard where you can spend a pleasent time. Wifi connection is free. If you arrive later than 11 p.m. you must call by phone and the night concierge will open you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentgt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    160
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
95
297
39
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collingswood, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at the Morris House in January. We were seeing a show at the Forrest Theater and the location of the Morris gave us exactly what we were looking for. The walk to the theater was less than 10 minutes and gave us plenty of time to have a very cozy, relaxing dinner at the "M" Restaurant connected by the courtyard to the hotel. We were in a third floor suite overlooking the courtyard which was very quiet, shielded from any street noise. The bathroom was an odd shape as it was shoehorned into the original old room, but I've been in lots worse. The only drawback as I saw it was, there were no elevators. You had to walk up three flights of stairs, a minor drawback. The staff was very helpful and breakfast was served in the parlor. All in all it was an enjoyable stay and I would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Try to get on the courtyard (inside) of the building, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrinsleySchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Lovely place, extremely spacious room. My only complaint would be the noise of the SEPTA trains running through, a low rumbling every 20 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed one night while in Philly in Feb. House was very nice. Furniture and Decor in room was really nice, gave that old but charming feel. Very Romantic. Would stay again. Very clean. Only thing i noticed was when people were in the hallway we could hear them talking as if in our room, which made us wonder if they could hear us talking. Being a historic building though this may be expected. Breakfast set up was nice in the morning. No decaf coffee out, probaly could of asked but was in a hurry. Got hot chocolate instead :) Gentleman working the front desk was very charming and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzy483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

The hotel was in a great location for seeing historic sights or attending theater. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. A pleasant reading room complete with aworking fireplace made a nice respite from the cold. The rooms were spacious with a touch of worn elegance. It was a pleasant alternative to a standard hotel. Rooms were quiet and we had a separate sitting room from the bedroom. The parking garage is directly across from the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room overlooking the main entrance, which was a side street, and the hotel courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cajFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a wonderful old house that dates back to the earliest days of Philadelphia. Our room (3 floor walk up!) was spacious and while not extravagant, very nice. The bathroom had both a shower and separate tub. The TV was circa 1975 but if youre looking for a hotel room based on the tv, you wont like this place anyway. Continental breakfast included; great place to chat with other guests. The location is right in the middle of society hill. Independence Hall 2 blocks away; Walnut Street Theater around the corner. Super restaurants in every direction.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed in February for the second time in 2 years and this is an elegant, peaceful, refined location that is a relief from the functional city aspects of the area. Reception is consistently responsive and courteous and our rooms were immaculate. When we arrived, we enjoyed a beverage and light cookies in the lovely living room. We note that in the carriage house there is a musty odor (mold?) on the ground floor which needs the right person with a good nose, the right technical skills, and a a gentle hand for dealing w/ architectural gems to get in there and correct the problem. That said, we will look forward to our next stay and recommend this location.

Room Tip: Musty odor on ground floor of carriage house. All else is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Hummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Property: Morris House Hotel
Address: 225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing