We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Girasole

Girasole
Ranked #2,180 of 4,342 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Boutique authentic Italian Mediterranean restaurant & bar.
Sumneytown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

A friend and I met here for drinks early evening. My drink was generous and properly prepared. We were enjoying our discussion and our banter with the bar tender so we decided to ask if we could have a table to get something to eat. Though the restaurant was busy we were shortly offered a table in a banquet at the front of the room. Our server was quite pleasant and most professional and efficient. The calamari appetizer was superb. Rather than being fried as we had anticipated, there were large tender and flavorful pieces of squid in a delightful tomato gravy. We scoffed it up! The steak entree was tender and prepared to perfection. The veal with sauteed mushrooms was delightful without being overly sauced. We felt very comfortable during our visit here. It is relatively small, though not intimate, so we didn't experience some of the frantic activity and noise levels found in some of the larger spaces. All of the crew were friendly and not at all pushy. Because of some unfortunate reviews I had passed-up making reservations here for a larger group last month. Today I made a reservation here for the same group for next week.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bretseahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marmora, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always good - time after time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just enjoyed Girasole again on Nov 2nd 2012 before going to a play - we drive up from Cape May County NJ and like to make sure we have a nice evening - Girasole never disapoints -over the years we know we can count on having a very nice meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeff_loves_food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Run fast and far!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Girasole is apparently an Italian word meaning "descent into hell". This was the absolute worst restaurant experience I have ever had in a long life of eating out. Having made a reservation 2 weeks before our arrival, when we arrived, the kind hostess told us that we were welcome to eat at the bar. When I told her that would not suffice she went to the back worked her magic and returned to offer us the same seats at the bar. She had a party of four coming in half an hour and couldn't give us their table. When I asked her why she hadn't held our table with the same courtesy, she looked confused so I asked to see the manager. Again she went away and came back without manager to tell us we could wait at the bar for a table in a few minutes. So fine...off to the bar.

My wife asks the bartender what kind of white wine they have. "Cabernet and Merlot", she replies. Once we clarified the obvious, we opted for the Chardonnay, 1 choice poured from a 1.5 liter bottle that had never seen the joys of refrigeration. Terrible cheap bar wine, Liberty Creek Chard, $6.99/1.5 liters at the store. When our table was ready and we had to move over I got the check to settle up...$13 per glass for rot gut!

Food not good...Tasmanian Salmon? Bolognese Sauce made with "light meat"? The waitress thought I was rude for inquiring. We got Carpaccio and it was cooked?

Went to the Men's room and it literally looked like some dude had urinated on the wall behind the urinal, huge puddle of urine on the floor and no one seemed to care. Told the bus boy...he thought it was funny.

Stars? No Stars. If Stars were poop they'd be getting dozens.

A day letter and we seem to have survived but, really, genuinely, with all my heart, do not go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Marginal Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were there with another couple and this was our first visit. The food was very good but nothing that separated Girasole from other good restaurants in the area, except their prices were higher for the quality of food and service, e.g. we had to ask for bread and had a couple problems with the bill, one of which was cared for. It was a fixed price menu @ $35. with very limited choices. The total bill was $185 which included. There are other restaurants in the area we like better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
407 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Went on Travel Zoo Offer, will return to this cute neighborhood place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Good food, quick service, flexible to taste with coupon from travel zoo, who could ask for more? We recommend this place for sure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Girasole also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing