We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Place in our Own Philly Cheese Steak Contest”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Geno's Steaks

Geno's Steaks
Ranked #150 of 4,342 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Second Place in our Own Philly Cheese Steak Contest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

An impromptu trip to Philly we decided to do a Cheese Steak contest.
we went to Pats, Geno's, and Sonny's.

Geno's was spotless and the staff a little nicer than the others but all I tasted was salt.
We ordered the same thing at each place if it weren't for the strong salty taste Geno's would have won hands down.

The cheese fries were good but very salty as well. Over all it was great experience and we will be back. We will just drink plenty of water maybe take some blood pressure meds...lol

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momoftwofreehold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    437
    419
    194
    164
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Cheese Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Right across the street from Pat's. This place is still a really good cheese steak. They are bit friendlier and have a few more option than Pats and a good place to also try if you are visiting. I only go here when I am showing people around whom have never been to philly. I go here and of course PATS

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better than Pats!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

While in Philadelphia for a business trip, my associate and I decided to do the cheesesteak challenge between Pat's and Geno's. Pat's onions were much more cooked and the bread was softer, which I think made the sandwich seem soggy. Geno's had thicker bread and crunchier onions- my pick for the win!

Helpful?
Thank msb2m5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
356 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“This won the best cheese steak contest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Family and I went on a cheese steak quest around the city of Philly to crown a king of cheese steak...geno s won....3 pot of 4 stars. Loved the actual sliced steak in lieu of chopped...plus the bread was incredible .....don't get me wrong, all the sandwiches we ha experienced were off the hook, but this was the best

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Geno's a local faviorate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Been going here over 30+ years. It's always good. The meat portion was on the med-small side (4 vs 5 stars) this time but still very good. Geno's has the best rolls. This place is open 24 hours a day. So when in Philly stop by even at the late hours in the morning 2-5 am. Very nice collection of police patches - ~ 500+

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Geno's Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing