We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well I tried it”
Review of Geno's Steaks

Geno's Steaks
Ranked #155 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
1 review
“Well I tried it”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Bad service, never been before asked question about peppers and lady was about to lose her mind. I will never go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshuaelkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    454
    432
    202
    166
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Incredible!! Great service!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had to do the cheesesteak tour while in Philadelphia! We went to Pat's first and then Geno's. The cheesesteak and service at Geno's were impeccable! But, good luck finding a place to sit!!! I would bet with food like theirs, it stays busy constantly! It was definitely worth the taxi ride there. Wishing I had one right now:-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
881 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Below Average”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The huge line stretching around the block looked promising when we arrived at Geno's. We had been told to know exactly what we wanted when we got to the window or they'd 'NEXT' us.
After 20 minutes we arrived at the window and were actually a little shocked at the incredibly racist stickers stuck on the window. Getting past that we ordered our steaks, then at the next window ordered some fries. The fries were greasy and flavourless. The steak was on the dry side and it was all pretty bland. We couldn't understand what the big deal was. I think if you're in Philly and want to try a cheesesteak, give it a go but don't expect anything amazing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiaOraKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a Disappointment”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

After all the hype, I was expecting a really good Philly Cheesesteak sandwich, so last year while on a trip up north I just could not help myself I had to give Geno's a try. To tell you the truth, Texas has much better Beef and real cheese all in all my advise is try something else if your in Philadelphia and your hungry, don't waste your time or money on this food. I guess it is worth going down there at night to see all the neon lights, but you don't linger for too long, it's a rough part of town, just a quick drive thru, have your camera ready.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KARO48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you're the best in Philly, you're the best in the world”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife, son, and I hit this place our first night in town for my son's graduation from Temple. We went to both Geno's and Pat's, and by a score of 3-0, Geno's beat Pat's Steaks, the biggest competitor. The bread was slightly chewier, the steak better flavored, and the onions better seasoned. We all felt it wasn't even close.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geno's Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Geno's Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing