We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smh... steer clear.”

Pat's King of Steaks
Ranked #104 of 4,405 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Smh... steer clear.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's just like Geno's.

Big name, but they lost their flare for the customer service.

Go to any other corner store and you'll be happy. Ask anyone from Philly, and 9 out of 10 times they'll tell you they dislike Pat's (and Geno's).

Perhaps go to say you went to a famous eatery, but please don't let it be your only judge of a good cheese steak.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    615
    483
    227
    191
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipton, PA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What can you say.....It's an Institution”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Philadelphia Cheese Steak at Pat's was good, not great. The experience was worth the visit. It is always very interesting to visit an iconic place such as Pat's. The signage, history and people watching make Pat's must do stop if you are in Philly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tipton_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NASHVILLE
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Cheesesteak, but no it isnt the best thing I ever ate”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It wasnt the best Cheesesteak, but it was good. And it was fun. You are in a little quaint neighborhood with people playing a friendly game of ball within view of your wait in line. I think wit onions makes the difference between average and a little above average. And one cheesesteak was enough for lunch and dinner for me! Would I go again? Yes, but not until I try a few others around the city. Either way, if you havent been, you should try it!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BETHANY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If Pat's hadn't been on cable...”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

If Pat's "King of Steaks" hadn't been spotlighted on TV, I am 100% sure it would have been bulldozed by now.
Pros: I now know where to never go for a Philly cheese steak.
Cons: Everything else. I mean, the enormous lines that stretch well over a block, interrupting traffic and attracting heaps of litter. Standing in the hot sun as the wafting aroma of whatever dead animal they pass off as steak makes you sick to your stomach. All the people in the line around you are growing increasingly cranky and impatient as they too, realize they have been duped by cable programming. When you finally reach the window and get to say the "Cheese steak wit" thing you've been rehearsing in your head for 45 minutes in line, you get to stand in another line and wait for the food. I've had sandwiches of equal quality out of a box in my freezer, except at home i have a shamwow to absorb the grease trail that has reached your collar bone.
Sure, go to Pat's. Have a cheesesteak. Get a picture of you outside it to post on facebook. Even tell everybody it was the best sandwich you've ever consumed cause "Hey, I traveled 3 hours for this". But don't say I didn't warn you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cshans07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst in town”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The tourist office deserves to be closed down for including this place (and Geno's) in its web site.
Whatever this food is, it isn't a Philly cheese stake; shredded maybe-beef; served cold; without tomato sauce. Unfriendly, pushy, indifferent personnel ("service" would be too much of a compliment). Dirty all over the outside and the inside does not look any better. Most customers also looked and sounded like this place was made for them, and it was only 18:30!
We got stuck there because we could not bear the thought of walking another six blocks to get back to the car: big mistake.
Use your nose and eyes before you order: flee!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chljkgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pat's King of Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Pat's King of Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing